h1

Introducing: Toronto Café Tour

June 2, 2011

Hi all! So it’s summer, which is a huge relief for me, seeing as the weather here in Toronto is finally getting nice, and seeing as I’m finally done with classes and now have some free time and flexibility in my schedule. And so, in order to better take advantage of this new-found freedom of mine, I’ve decided to start a little summer blog series which I’m calling Toronto Café Tour. The basic idea is that throughout the summer I’ll be visiting as many Toronto cafés as I can manage, and posting mini-reviews of each of them here. Not only will this mission give me some initiative and purpose to go out and explore new areas of the city, it will also help me suss out the best places in town to get me some java, as well as the best places to hunker down and do some work—info that you, too, will hopefully appreciate.

Some ground rules: As I said above, these will be mini-reviews, so don’t expect anything overly detailed—most of what you’ll be getting will be merely first impressions (which, however, I think still count for a lot). To keep things more consistent, I will generally order the same drink at every café: a soy latte, my preferred beverage and a good benchmark for any coffeehouse in my opinion. I will also be evaluating the locations on their wifi availability, their general atmosphere, and their food selection. Overall, I will be looking for cafés that offer a good, affordable drink and a nice place to work.

Anyway, I’ll be back tomorrow with my first review, so be sure to check back in, and I hope you enjoy this series!

Until we eat again,

Willie

P.S.: I don’t often do this, but I really feel that I must plug the excellent Drawn and Devoured blog. Almost all of the blogs I follow are either food blogs or comics blogs, and Drawn and Devoured is the only one that brings those two genres together, featuring beautifully illustrated restaurant reviews. Moreover, D&D is a Toronto food blog, so its reviews are especially relevant to me. Anyway, great work, Katherine! I look forward to reading (and looking at) more of your future reviews!

19 comments

  1. […] We Eat Again Adventures in Long Distance Cooking « Introducing: Toronto Café Tour Toronto Café Tour: The Common June 3, […]


  2. […] TCT review is coming from Ella’s Uncle, located on Dundas right next to Trinity Bellwoods Park! […]


  3. […] Toronto Café Tour: Alternative Grounds June 5, 2011 Today’s Toronto Café Tour outing had me taking a nice bike ride out west to TO’s wonderful little Polish neighborhood […]


  4. […] again for another TCT review, this one of Saving Gigi, a nearby (to me) café right off of Ossington and Bloor. The […]


  5. […] today’s Toronto Café Tour post, reviewing Tik Talk Cafe near Harbord and […]


  6. […] again with another quick Toronto café review, this time from The Communal Mule, on Dundas West right by Trinity Bellwoods Park. Here’s […]


  7. […] in the mood for a Toronto café review? Well I got one! Today’s location is Capital Espresso down near Queen West and Lansdowne, and […]


  8. […] I like to keep my Toronto Café Tour reviews short and sweet: that’s part of the idea behind the series. But since today’s […]


  9. […] again for another quick café review, this time from Ezra’s Pound on Dupont and Madison, which not only scores points for having […]


  10. […] here today with another Toronto Café Tour review, this time from Sam James Coffee Bar on Harbord. This small little coffeeshop is well known […]


  11. […] It’s been a little while since my last post in my Toronto Café Tour series, but I’m back again from a new location: Linux Caffe at Harbord and Grace! […]


  12. […] reviews here; I’ve finally been getting around to backblogging previous visits as part of my summer series. Today’s café is Tequila Bookworm, located on Queen West between Bathurst and […]


  13. […] I’m back today with another Toronto café review, picking up my summer series from where I left it before I left for Berlin. Today’s café is a little place I’ve […]


  14. […] today’s Toronto Café Tour stop, I’m here to review a newly opened place called El Cafecito, a little coffeeshop tucked […]


  15. […] Another day, another café. Today’s location is Ideal Coffee (or “i deal coffee”) in Kensington Market. Here’s what I thought… […]


  16. […] I embarked on my Toronto Café Tour series earlier this year, my intention was that it would just be a summer project: the plan was to get out […]


  17. […] I’m here today with an all-new Toronto Café Tour review, this time of NOIR Coffee & Tea, a slick café located just west of Christie and St. […]


  18. […] here today with another Toronto Café Tour review, and the first place I’ve checked out with my brand new Indie Coffee Passport! My […]


  19. […] for another review in my Toronto Café Tour series! This one’s from The Green Grind (yes, another café on my Indie Coffee Passport). […]



Leave a comment