h1

Toronto Café Tour: Mylk Uncookies

August 19, 2011

Usually, I like to keep my Toronto Café Tour reviews short and sweet: that’s part of the idea behind the series. But since today’s review is of Mylk Uncookies, a Cabbagetown café specializing in raw and vegan treats (!!), I thought I’d say a little more than usual, in appreciation of their accommodating menu, and their awesomeness. I’ll still keep to the same format as normal, though. Anyway, here’s what I thought…

Latte: One of the things that sets Mylk Uncookies apart from other cafés is that they make their own almond milk (or ‘mylk’, if you’re a fan of vegan lexicography). And fittingly, this almond milk gets used in their lattes. Although I usually prefer soy milk in my lattes (I’ve had some pretty lousy experiences with (boxed) almond milk lattes in the past), I was more than willing to give MU’s in-house blend ($3.75) a shot, and I was very pleased with what I got. The flavor of my drink was definitely different from a soy latte, but not in a bad way. The almond milk had a fullness and richness that you don’t usually find in boxed almond milks, and it made for a really drinkable and satisfying drink. I also appreciated the nonobjectivist latte art.

Wifi: Yes!

Atmosphere: The interior of Mylk Uncookies is bright, clean, spacious, and welcoming (if a little predictable in its decor). There are plenty of tables and comfortable chairs, as well as a bookshelf sporting a few boardgames, making this a perfect place to come and while away a few hours, alone or with friends. (And, if you’re wondering, that graphic novel sitting on my table is a copy of Jeffrey Brown’s Cat Getting Out of a Bag and Other Observations, a thoroughly wonderful book.)

Food: As if the in-house almond milk lattes weren’t a big enough draw already, Mylk Uncookies also offers a wide array of vegan and raw treats. Their menu is not entirely vegan (as I was misled into believing from this Torontoist review), but I’d say about half of what they have on offer is, which is awesome. When I visited I chose two treats from their display case…

…this peanut butter chocolate bar ($2.75)…

…and this lucuma macaroon ($2)!

Starting from the bottom and working my way up, I thought the lucuma macaroon was very nice. It was super petite, but also very dense, making it a surprisingly filling treat for its size. I think I would’ve preferred if it were a little dense and more chewy, actually, but the taste was awesome. And it’s raw! So even more awesome!

The peanut butter chocolate bar was also very good. I’m a sucker for the peanut butter chocolate flavor combination, so this was an easy sell for me. Again, the taste was superb, but I would’ve preferred the bottom peanut butter layer to be a little chewier; the top chocolate layer, on the other hand, was divine.

In addition, they had a few other vegan offerings in their display case when I was there: a cocoa macaroon and a little vegan cheesecake round. Normally they seem to have some more breakfast-y vegan baked goods as well, but these were all well sold out by the time I got there in the afternoon.

Final Verdict: So, if it’s not obvious already, I really liked Mylk Uncookies. It was more than worth the thirty-some-odd-minute bike ride it took me to get there from Christie Pits, and despite the distance, I fully expect to be back. You should visit too! You won’t be disappointed.

Until we eat again,

Willie

One comment

  1. […] of the cafés are places I’ve already checked out, such as Linux Caffe, El Cafecito, and Mylk Uncookies (all of which I’m happy to return to), but many others are ones I’ve been meaning to […]



Leave a Reply

