h1

Red Bean & Beet Hummus

March 5, 2011

Has it really been over a month since my last post? My apologies, readers. But I’m back now, and with a new original hummus recipe (and another to come tomorrow)! So that’s exciting, right?

In fact, I’ve been making a lot of hummuses (hummi?) lately. They make awesome additions to salads, and provide a nice snack throughout the day. One of my favorite hummus varieties of late has been beet hummus (which Caitlin first posted about a long time ago). Up to this weekend I’d been following this recipe from Eat Right Ontario, which is excellent, but I was starting to feel ready for something a little different.

Thankfully, I found inspiration in the latest Sweet Or Savory Kitchen Challenge hosted by the Diet, Desserts and Dogs and Affairs of Living blogs. For those unaware, the S.O.S. Kitchen Challenge is a monthly invitation to bloggers to cook up new recipes centered around a special ingredient. This month’s ingredient is azuki beans, and as soon I saw this, I immediately thought that I should make an azuki bean hummus—something I’d never tried before, but which sounded like it could turn out pretty good.

After some deliberation, I decided that azuki beans might make a good complement to beets, and so last night I tried giving it a whirl (literally!). The result was fantastic! I think azuki beans actually work better than chickpeas, as they give the hummus a darker, earthier taste. I didn’t even need to bother add extra spices to the batch; just six simple ingredients were all this hummus needed! Plus, like most hummuses, the recipe is super simple, so you should definitely try it out for yourself. Enjoy!

Red Bean & Beet Hummus

Ingredients

  • 1 cup cooked azuki beans
  • 2 large beets
  • 1/4 cup tahini
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 2 to 4 tbsp water / reserved beet juice from boiling

Instructions

  1. Cook those beets! Well, wash them first, and then boil them until easily pierced with a fork, about thirty minutes. Then drain (reserving some of the liquid if desired), let cool, peel, and chop into small chunks.
  2. Throw everything in! Place chopped beets in a food processor along with the azuki beans, tahini, and lemon juice.
  3. Whirl it up! As you go on, add water or reserved beet liquid to thin it out.
  4. That’s it!

For reference, here’s what mine looked like after it was all whipped up:

Mine was probably a little more liquidy than I should’ve made it, but it was still delicious! I hope you enjoy this too!

Until we eat again,

Willie

15 comments

  1. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti


  2. Whoa, what an interesting recipe. I looove hummus. Haven’t made my mind up about beets but my husband loves them so I think I will try this soon.


  3. Sounds lovely! And of course the color is brilliant. 🙂 I’ve never tried adzukis with beet–must give it a whirl (ha) too! 🙂
    Thanks for submitting to the SOS this month!


  4. […] We Eat Again Adventures in Long Distance Cooking « Red Bean & Beet Hummus Chive Edamame Hummus March 6, […]


  5. This looks marvelous! and I love the concept for your blog. nice to meet you, and thanks for participating in the SOS Kitchen Challenge! xo Kim


  6. I’ve tried black bean hummus before but didn’t like it… but this looks great! I will try to whip it up once I get some beets. 🙂


  7. […] goodness of these spreads, is what keeps me coming back again and again. Not too long ago I posted some new hummus recipes I came up with, but today I want share something else from my ever expanding […]


  8. […] and to see their faces when they tried something totally new—whether it be cashew cheese or beet hummus, tofu étoufée or dhal, or even chocolate beer pancakes. It reminded me of how vegan cooking […]


  9. […] So, for my trip, I chose to prepare things like a nutrient dense salad, ginger cashew spread, beet hummus, and some baked tofu and seared tempeh. These are all things I regularly eat at home, too, and […]


  10. […] with some twists on the classic chickpea-and-tahini model, ranging from my absolutely fabulous Red Bean & Beet Hummus to my less astounding but still successful Chive Edamame Hummus to my celebratory Black & Gold […]


  11. […] a few of the exciting hummus variations I’ve been coming up with, such as my unbeatable Beet Hummus and my newest hit, Orange Sunflower Hummus. Sometimes, though, it’s nice to go back to the […]


  12. I made this yesterday and love, love, love it. So much so that I may need to make another batch today. Sooo good!


    • Glad you liked it! It’s one of my favorites too!


  13. It looks yummy, but I don’t know if I like beets yet. Is there a substitution you could recommend in the mean time? I’m already looking forward to the sweet potato recipe!


    • Hmm… beets are pretty integral to this hummus recipe. You could try any of my many other hummus recipes though! Just type “hummus” into the search bar to the right.



Leave a Reply

