h1

No-Bake Cocoa Nut Coconut Oat Bars

September 22, 2011

Prepare yourself, because this recipe might just change your life.

The granola bars you see before you are some of the best things to come out my kitchen this season, and certainly the best recipe I’ve come up with in a long time. I can’t take all the credit here, though. As regular readers may recall, not too long ago I gushed about Choosing Raw’s No-Bake Sunflower Oat Bars, which are both absolutely delicious and a snap to make. After eating my way through all of those (which admittedly didn’t take very long), I immediately started thinking about my next batch. I would’ve happily made another batch of the same, but I figured I should challenge myself and see if I could twist them into something more original. After an initial botched attempt, I ended up with a near perfect formula in my opinion: a tantalizing mix of chocolate, nuts, coconut, and oats—what I’m calling, perhaps a little too literally, Cocoa Nut Coconut Oat Bars.

My major changes to Gena’s original recipe were replacing the sunflower seeds with shredded coconut and then adding some coconut oil to the wet ingredients. I generally love shredded coconut in everything, and the coconut oil, in addition to adding more coconut flavor also works as a further binder, since it solidifies when refrigerated. And adding a half cup of chopped nuts just made these all the more delectable.

But what I really love about these granola bars is that they are perfect for back-to-school time (as Gena already knows). It’s so easy for me to just reach in the fridge and throw one of these in my backpack before heading off to campus. And though they definitely don’t hold together quite as well once warmed up to room temperature, they’re not a total mess, and still just as delicious. Anyway, here’s the recipe!

No-Bake Cocoa Nut Coconut Oat Bars (makes 12 – 14 bars)

Ingredients

  • 2 cups oats
  • 1 cup shredded coconut
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/2 cup carob chips
  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts (I used Brazil, but I think almonds would work nicely too)
  • 2/3 cup nut butter
  • 1/2 cup brown rice syrup
  • 1/3 cup coconut oil

Instructions

  1. Mix together dry ingredients in one bowl.
  2. Mix together wet ingredients in another bowl, until homogeneous.
  3. Mix the contents of both bowls together.
  4. Line a baking dish with plastic wrap.
  5. Scoop granola mixture into the baking dish, spread out evenly, and press down firmly.
  6. Cover with another layer of plastic wrap.
  7. Place in fridge overnight.
  8. The following morning, remove from fridge and cut into granola-bar-sized granola bars.
  9. Wrap each bar in plastic wrap and keep in fridge until ready to eat.

And that’s all there is to it! I really hope you guys all get to try these or Gena’s original sunflower oat bars for yourself soon. Or alternatively, make up your own! This recipe formula is easily customizable to your personal tastes and/or pantry availabilities. (Just make sure to tell me about it if you do.)

Until we eat again,

Willie

Leave a Reply

