h1

Toronto Café Tour: The Communal Mule

August 13, 2011

Back again with another quick Toronto café review, this time from The Communal Mule, on Dundas West right by Trinity Bellwoods Park. Here’s what I thought…

image

Latte: $4.79! $4.79 for a single soy latte! Now, they did charge 50 cents extra for the soy milk, but I’m against that on principle, so it’s no excuse. $4.79 is exorbitant. However, the latte did taste very, very good. Creamy, but with a great espresso flavor. So I didn’t feel like I got totally ripped off. But $4.79. Seriously.

Wifi: Yes! (However, I did notice it being a little slow on my smartphone.)

Atmosphere: Small, but still felt spacious. Not very crowded and fairly quiet when I was there. Good number of tables and chairs. Fairly hip, but that’s how I like it.

Food: A moderate assortment of baked goods, none clearly marked as vegan however. Looked good though. Not that I had any more money to spend after that latte.

Final Verdict: Why is the Common Mule sooo expensive?? Well, the price tag does probably limit the clientele and keep the place from being overrun, which is a good thing. But I cannot afford $5 for a single soy latte, even though theirs was delicious. But if you’re looking to splurge a bit, the Common Mule isn’t a bad choice.

Until we eat again,

Willie

Leave a Reply

