h1

Quinoa Millet Oat Soda Bread

September 29, 2011

Hello readers!

I’ve blogged before about my forays into making Irish soda bread at home, and today I’m here to continue that tradition. For those that don’t know, soda bread is awesome because: (a) it’s delicious; and (b) it doesn’t need to rise. Yes, it’s bread that’s truly made for Irish lazy people like me. My other attempts at soda bread have actually turned out quite successful, and today I’m here to share a simple variation on my normal recipe which I rather like: oat soda bread topped with quinoa and millet! I wasn’t sure at first if sprinkling uncooked quinoa and millet on top would work, but it turned out fine, and adds a nice crunchy texture to the bread that I adore. And it’s not too shabby visually, either:

Anyway, I don’t have much more to say here than to share the actual recipe, so here you go!

Quinoa Millet Oat Soda Bread

Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp apple cider vinegar / lemon juice
  • 1 3/4 cup soy milk (less 2 tbsp, actually)
  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/4 cup white all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/4 tsp salt
  • quinoa and millet for sprinkling

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 400°F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2. Put apple cider vinegar/lemon juice in a measuring cup, then fill up to the 1 3/4 cup line with soy milk.
  3. Place rolled oats in a food processor and pulse for a while. You don’t have to make them into a flour or anything, just get them broken up as best you can.
  4. Place rolled oat mixture in a mixing bowl, and add to it the flours, baking soda, and salt. Mix to combine.
  5. Add to this the soy milk, and mix until it all starts coming together.
  6. Shape the dough into your desired shape. I went for a long batard above, but a nice round boule would work just as well.
  7. Top with quinoa and millet.
  8. Bake for about 50 minutes, until a toothpick stuck in the center comes out clean.
  9. After it’s cooled, slice up and enjoy!

Happy eating!

Until we eat again,

Willie

2 comments

  1. […] I still haven’t perfected my jelly making yet though. In both this and the last batch I made, my jelly ended up being way too thick and stiff after refrigeration, although it was still fairly runny when I took it off the stove. I guess I just need to stop cooking it for as long. Nonetheless, this jelly still tastes great, and if you let it sit on the counter for a few minutes to take the chill off, it becomes much more easily spreadable. Here’s some on the last couple slices of my recent Quinoa Millet Oat Soda Bread: […]


  2. […] right, I have, and not just once, not just twice, but again, and again, and again, and again. Nonetheless, it bears repeating: I really love baking bread. And I’ve been making a lot of […]



Leave a comment