h1

I Don’t Think You’re Ready For This Jelly

October 5, 2011

Oh, if only every post could begin with a Destiny’s Child lyric

I’ve now made homemade jelly a couple of times this summer, and it’s always been a good time (and good way to get through a lot of rapidly ripening summer fruit). This jelly is a mix of white peaches, yellow peaches, and nectarines, to which I added some grated ginger and lemon juice and zest. And, of course, sugar. Lots and lots of sugar. I generally avoid using special pectin sugar and just opt for white sugar instead; it always seems to work out just as well.

I still haven’t perfected my jelly making yet though. In both this and the last batch I made, my jelly ended up being way too thick and stiff after refrigeration, although it was still fairly runny when I took it off the stove. I guess I just need to stop cooking it for as long. Nonetheless, this jelly still tastes great, and if you let it sit on the counter for a few minutes to take the chill off, it becomes much more easily spreadable. Here’s some on the last couple slices of my recent Quinoa Millet Oat Soda Bread:

Unfortunately, this is probably the last batch of jelly I’ll make this year, now that summer fruits are becoming rarer and rarer here up north. Still, this latest batch will probably last me well into the winter…

And if that means many more breakfasts like this, then I really can’t complain.

VeganMoFo #5/31

Until we eat again,

Willie

2 comments

  1. My jellies have been firm, too, Willie. I feel your frustration.


    • Any tips?? Should I just be cooking it for much less longer? Or should I be using pectin sugar?



Leave a Reply

