h1

Foc Yeah Focaccia Bread!

October 21, 2011

So this happened over the weekend:

Yes, yet again I spent my days off baking bread, this time tackling Peter Reinhart’s focaccia bread from The Break Baker’s Apprentice (could I possibly recommend this book any more?). The fun thing about focaccia (or at least this focaccia recipe, which is the first and only one I’ve tried), is that you shape it right in the pan, and that’s where the dough does most of its rising, like so:

This flat loaf, soaking in herb oil, actually sat in my fridge overnight before I put it in the oven. Then, after only twenty minutes, it was ready!

And oh how good it was. I was very impressed with this bread, and not just because it’s so full of oily, herby goodness. The crust came out superb, opening up to reveal and incredibly soft and melty crumb inside.

I could honestly eat this focaccia bread for every meal. Or just all the time without even stopping.

I don’t think I’d get fat. Why would I get fat?

Bread makes you fat??

(I hope someone got that.)

VeganMoFo #21/31

Until we eat again,

Willie

6 comments

  1. That looks a perfect focaccia! Nice going.
    🙂


  2. This is beautiful bread! I’ve never made focaccia at home, but maybe I should try!


    • You definitely should! It’s really not hard at all—and it’s SO delicious!


  3. The focaccia looks gorgeous! It looks delicious.


  4. That looks so perfect, I made focaccia for the first time the other day & I could definitely eat it with every meal!


  5. Stunning! Well done… bookmarked to try at some point – thanks!



Leave a comment