h1

Vegan Apple Fritters… for Two Hundred!

October 22, 2011

Hello friend! Let me introduce you to a delicious vegan dessert I just recently discovered…

Those are apple fritters, recipe courtesy of the Sweetest Vegan (warning: link is a video recipe!). These little treats are a snap to make, irresistible to eat, and the perfect use for all the great autumn apples in season right now. Topped with a super simple and perfectly paired lemon icing, you will not be able to stop yourself from eating these no matter how hard you try. Indeed, I liked these fritters so much, I decided to make 200 of them!

Okay, that’s probably closer to 180. But still. You should get the point: I liked these. A lot.

Curious to know why I shallow fried dozens upon dozens of apple fritters by hand? Although I’d love to say “just for fun!”, I actually was helping to cater a lecture reception at UofT as part of a team of fellow volunteers from the Hot Yam!, the university’s volunteer-run vegan food collective. It’s a great little organization full of great people, several of whom helped keep me sane as I attempted to orchestrate the production of all these fritters in just under 4 hours. And we were actually able to finish right on time (yay!), getting to the lecture hall just as guests were starting to file in. We quickly set up our food, and we were ready to go!

In case you’re wondering, the lecture we were catering was part of a series of World Food Day events happening throughout the city this past week. Our particular event was a talk by Carolyn Steel called “Sitopia: Changing the World Through Food”. Carolyn was a charming speaker, and had a lot of enlightening things to say about the intimate relationship between food and the city. It was a great event, and I was really happy to be part of it!

At the end of the night, we left the event with both of our big bins empty and no fritters left uneaten. But that’s not really any surprise, because these fritters are just so darn good. Try them for yourself—you won’t be disappointed.

VeganMoFo #22/31

Until we eat again,

Willie

6 comments

  1. Color me impressed! They turned out really well. Mmm…


  2. Oh wow, I wish I could’ve been there to eat those! I guess I’ll just have to make them myself!!


  3. Yes! Those fritters are fantastic! Yours look beautiful 🙂


    • Thanks! I really should’ve given you some credit here, too—I first found the recipe through your blog!


  4. Your’s look amazing! Simply beautiful! I am going to link back!


  5. […] hope you enjoy this recipe. Check out how much Until We Eat Again enjoyed them. Enough to make […]



Leave a Reply

