h1

N.Y.Cooking

February 19, 2010

Hello readers!

I’ve been in New York for about a week now, and I’m sad to think about how little time I have left of this break. Fortunately, this week has been full of great food (check out the excellent restaurant reviews below, if you haven’t already). Today I want to share with you all some of the homemade goodies we’ve cooked up over the past few days. Ready? Okay go!

As a morning treat, Caitlin whipped up these tasty treats: “Mary’s Famous Banana Buttermilk Buckwheat Pancakes” from Crescent Dragonwagon’s Passionate Vegetarian (and, thanks to Google Books, you can get the recipe online for yourself—just go to page 544). These were really really good, and gone in no time!

For dinner one night, we made a big spread of Indian food! Due to some infestation problems with Caitlin’s brown rice, we ended up being a little untraditional and making buckwheat kasha as the side grain, which was just as good in my opinion! Here are the two mains:

First up, we had some Yucca Saag. We based this on one of VeganDad’s recipes for Tofu Saag. It was good, but still a little short of the real deal. One day, though, I’m going to make authentic Indian spinach. And it will be delicious.

Our other dish was Coconut Curry Chickpeas, and it was fantastic! The recipe also came from VeganDad, and was so so good and flavorful! (And I think Caitlin agrees!)

Lastly, Tuesday night I took care of dinner while Caitlin was out in Manhattan at class. My meal of choice was Pad Thai, sort of. I adapted this recipe from Closet Cooking (leaving out the fish sauce, shrimp, and egg, and substituting in other things as well), and made some of this delicious roasted tofu from Chow Vegan. The end result? Well, it looked like this:

Somewhat surprisingly, this turned out awesome. The base sauce was a wonderful flavorful that the rice noodles soaked right up. Along with that I added some tasty snap peas and green onions and a big handful (or two!) of peanuts. Also, the roasted tofu, as I said before, was amazing! Plus, the recipe is super easy and only calls for four ingredients (and that’s including the tofu!). I would definitely make this recipe again!

That’s all I have for today, but I’ll have much more to post about before this weekend is through. Check back soon!

Until we eat again,

Willie

One comment

  1. […] better. Basically, I went by the same general formula I used for the more traditional Pad Thai dish I made a few weeks ago in NYC (thanks again to Closet Cooking!), but with several changes. First, I had the genius idea of using […]



Leave a comment