h1

Toronto Café Tour: R Squared

December 6, 2011

It’s end of term, so I’ve been spending a lot of time in a lot of cafés lately. Accordingly, here’s yet another TCT review, this time from R Squared on Queen West (yet another Indie Coffee Passport location). Here’s what I thought…

image

Latte: This little mug was average in price at $3.49, but very good in taste. I wasn’t blown away or anything, but this was a nice drink, from the first sip to the last drop.

Wifi: Yes!

Atmosphere: R Squared’s decor is slick and chic. The café is more or less a long narrow corridor with lots of wooden tables and white plastic chairs filling the space. There are also some comfy boothes toward the back, which is where I spent my time there.

Clientele: For the most part, R Squared was filled with fellow twentysomethings coming in to read a book or type away on their MacBooks. Also spotted were some of that ubiquitous café species known as ‘young mothers with infants’.

Music: They were playing continuous albums while I was there, something I always appreciate. First was some French art rock band, which I didn’t recognize but enjoyed well enough, and that was followed by something with Ben Gibbard (probably Death Cab), which I did not enjoy so much.

image

Food: This, unfortunately, was a complete disaster. After briefly perusing R Squared’s small display case of not-very-vegan-looking baked goods, I whimsically asked if any of their food on sale was vegan, and though nothing on display was, the barista eagerly got another employee to grab some special vegan treats they had hiding away in the kitchen. I was humbled by the kind service, and excited for the granola-bar-brownie they brought out. And then I bit into it. Or rather, I tried to bite into it. However, this brownie was as hard as a brick, and almost inedible. Seriously, I don’t know how anyone could’ve thought this was good enough to serve. This is the perfect example of what vegan food shouldn’t be, and if this is what R Squared is going to serve their vegan customers, I’d say they’d do better not serving them at all.

Final Verdict: Aside from the food, my experience at R Squared was very positive: a good latte, a nice atmosphere, and a nicely workable space. Definitely worth the visit—just whatever you do, don’t order their vegan brownies.

Until we eat again,

Willie

One comment

  1. It’s actually not a brownie. it’s a bar. It is hard. But found it to be tasty. I agree with you. They don’t have much selection for vegan goodies.



Leave a Reply

