h1

Fawaffles (Vegan & Gluten-Free Falafel Waffles)

November 19, 2011

I have a new favourite word and that word is fawaffles.

For those who can’t tell, ‘fawaffle’ is a portmanteau of ‘falafel’ and ‘waffle’, used to describe falafel patties that have been baked in a waffle iron. Apparently, I’m not the first to come up with this moniker, but still, fawaffles have a fairly low internet presence right now, and so I want to do what little I can to change that.

This wouldn’t be the first time I’ve been perhaps more excited about a recipe’s name than the recipe itself, though it may be the first time that I’ve made a recipe primarily because I loved the name so much. Fortunately, fawaffles are as much a pleasure to eat as ‘fawaffle’ is to say. But that’s no surprise: falafels are awesome, and all that’s different with fawaffles is the baking method.

For my fawaffles, I basically followed this Yummly recipe, which by omitting the breadcrumbs, made them entirely gluten-free! There’s a lot of cilantro and parsley in here to give them flavor, and cooked brown rice acts as the binder. And though they definitely could’ve held together a little better in the end, I was very happy overall with how they turned out.

Making these fawaffles also gave me the excuse to try out this Vegan Tzatziki sauce from Vegan Dad, which I must tell you is absolutely divine. Seriously, it is drinkably good. So good that I didn’t even feel the need to stick my falafels into pitas: with this tzatziki, a little bit of harissa, and a small sprig of parsley as garnish, these fawaffles actually became a refined, composed dish, and one that I wanted to just keep eating and eating.

So spread the word—make some fawaffles for you and your friends and see what you’ve been missing!

Until we eat again,

Willie

One comment

  1. Willie, I thought I commented on this post a week or two ago . . . Looks fantastic! I’m totally pumped to give this one a try. Thanks for the inspiration.



Leave a Reply

