h1

Spreading Some VeganMoFo Liebster Love

November 3, 2011

It’s been three days since this year’s VeganMoFo ended, and I’m still wiped out. 31 straight days of blogging turned out to be no easy task, but overall I’m still glad I did it—though I’m not jumping at the idea of doing it again (but we’ll see what I say next year…). I’m also very pleased to share that on my last day of the October blogfest, I received a nice little gift from my friend Lisa over at Vegan Culinary Crusade—a Liebster blog award! It looks like this:

First off, let me say that Lisa is awesome and if you don’t already read her blog that means you’re doing life wrong. Second, I’m going to spend today spreading the blogger love around, since, like all chain-letter-style blog awards, this one came with some conditions of receipt…

“The rules of winning this award are as follows:
  1. Show your thanks to those who gave you the award by linking back to them.
  2. Reveal 5 of your top picks and let them know by leaving a comment on their blog.
  3. Post the award on your blog.
  4. Enjoy the love and support of some wonderful people on the www!”

So here are some of my “Liebster” blogs, specifically geared to blogs that shared this year’s VeganMoFo with me and made it all the merrier…

1. Vegtastic!

This blog is probably my favorite VeganMoFo discovery—which is to say, I didn’t know about it before this month, but now I’m sure glad I do! Even though I’ve only been following it for a few weeks, it’s already provided me some excellent recipe inspiration, from these Coconut Chai Rice Krispies (which inspired my recent No-Bake Coconut Chai Oat Bars) to this Purple Potato Bread, which I made literally less than an hour after seeing it. (I sorta love bread.) (But you should know this already.)

2. Cupcakes and Kale

This blog gets some of my Liebster love for having in my opinion one of the best VeganMoFo themes: keeping with her blog’s title, Jess devoted the entire month solely to recipes featuring cupcakes or kale! The result was an outpouring of deliciousness. I really enjoyed these Sour Cream & Onion Kale Chips (which attentive readers will remember from my Thanksgiving appetizers), and I’m just dying to try these Chocolate Kale Chips!

3. This is Vegan

Mary is one of my blogging neighbors in nearby Kitchener, Ontario, and she’s a real VeganMoFo champ, another member of the 31/31 club. I really like her blog because it’s a good mix of recipes, restaurant reviews, and just talking (which, I guess, is much like my own). And just look at that beautiful Pumpkin Hummus! Can’t wait to try this out for myself.

4. Prairie Vegan

Prairie Vegan is a fellow Toronto-based blog, and she’s certainly a good neighbo(u)r to have—and I’m not just saying that because she sometimes writes entire posts dedicated to “Caturday” (though I certainly wouldn’t complain if there were more…) It’s also a good place to find ton(ne)s of awesome recipes. In fact, Prairie Vegan’s early VeganMoFo post about apple recipes provided two of my favorite recipes of the month: Apple Pie Hummus and Apple Fritters!

5. Vegan für Anfänger und Fortgeschrittene

One of the coolest things about VeganMoFo is that it’s global, and has plenty of participants from all over the world. For me, this meant the discovery of some German vegan blogs, which excites me to no end, and Vegan für Anfänger und Fortgeschrittene (that is, “Vegan for Beginners and Experts”) is one of my favorites of the ones I’ve seen. Just check out that delicious Hokkaido Pumpkin Soup!

Hope you guys appreciate these links! And don’t worry—I’ll be getting back in the kitchen this weekend and am sure to have plenty of exciting recipes to share with y’all next week! Check back soon.

Until we eat again,

Willie

4 comments

  1. thank you so much willie! i certainly enjoyed my theme too, but i’m not gonna lie – pumpkin & squash are going to get some seriously love on my blog soon now that i’m released from the mofo madness! and ps, i seriously bow down to your 31 posts. that is some serious blogging sir.


  2. Thanks a lot for that award! Means a lot to me, that I have some english-speaking readers now! Thanks Willie! I will check out your blog immediately!


  3. Aw thank you 🙂

    I’m so glad I found your blog during the vegan MoFoness. And I’m SO Impressed with your 31 days of blogging, since obviously I completely fell off the posting wagon.

    Looking forward to more posts from you! 😀 (and thanks for the bread advice)


  4. Thanks for the links, Willie, I’ve added Vegtastic! to my blogroll. Can’t wait to try those rice crispy squares. Also looking forward to seeing you at the Corner House Meet-up, it’s supposed to be a really quaint and lovely resto.



Leave a Reply

