h1

Toronto Café Tour: Caffiends

October 28, 2011

Today I made another stop on my Toronto Café Tour, this time to the tiny student-run coffeeshop known as Caffiends, which is tucked away on the main floor of the Victoria College building on the UofT campus. Though I’ve been at the university for over two years now, I had somehow never even heard of Caffiends before last week (in all fairness, it’s a big school). But once I did get word of it, it didn’t take me long to get on over there and see what they had to offer. My thoughts…

image

Coffee: When I visited, I was under the impression that Caffiends didn’t do lattes, but looking at their online menu now I guess I was wrong about that. At any rate, I was happy to get one of their $1 coffees instead. Not only is this coffee dirt cheap, it was actually really good! It probably has something to do with the care Caffiends takes in choosing their suppliers, both for their coffee and for all their other products. Caffiends is committed to supporting local, ethically traded, and environmentally conscious companies. In particular, their coffee beans come from the lovely and local Chocosol company, which also provides them with some lovely chocolate!

Wifi: The UofT wireless network is available, but nothing for non-students.

Atmosphere: Small and cozy, but still a good number of seats, including couches, chairs, and bar stools. I probably wouldn’t come here specifically to do work, but it is definitely comfortable enough to pass an hour doing some light reading or whatnot.

Clientele: Predictably, mostly students, but I’m more than fine with that.

Music: A good mix of indie folk was playing when I was there, none of which I could explicitly identify, but it was all stuff that could’ve been Wilco, Leonard Cohen, J. Mascis, or Bill Callahan.

Food: Caffiends offers a few brownies and cookies from the ubiquitous and vegan Sweets from the Earth and, as previously mentioned, chocolate from Chocosol. They also say that they offer vegan nanaimo bars!

Final Verdict: In short, Caffiends is awesome. I love the grassroots feel of the whole place, as well as their commitment to local and sustainable sources. But even more impressive is that Caffiends is able to do all this while still offering some of the cheapest drinks in town. So high marks for Caffiends. Try it out for yourself!

VeganMoFo #28/31

Until we eat again,

Willie

2 comments

  1. Great post! I’ve been at U of T for way too long, but didn’t know of this place. Will have to check it out for sure. Thanks for sharing!


    • Awesome! Glad to hear I wasn’t alone in my ignorance 😉



Leave a Reply

