h1

Coconut Banana Soft Serve: A First Pass

October 27, 2011

Hey-o!

I’ve already raved about banana soft serve many times on this blog. I really think it is one of the best tricks that vegans have up their sleeve: a healthy, entirely plant-based dessert that really gives regular ice cream a run for its money. You really don’t need anything more than bananas for this dessert, but sometimes a slight little addition makes for a nice variation. And when one of my friends suggested the idea of making banana soft serve with coconut milk, my mouth started watering just thinking about the sure-to-be-delectable result.

However, I was still a bit perplexed on how best to execute this idea, and unfortunately, our first attempts, though they still turned out tasty, did not yield any surefire methods. But I do know better now what I will do next time, so I thought I’d share my experiences with you today.

Attempt #1: Frozen Coconut Milk Ice Cubes

Did you know you can freeze coconut milk? And that you can freeze it in an ice cube tray as little ice cubes? Well you can, and I thought this might be a good way to get that coconut milk flavor in our banana soft serve without diluting the mixture too much. Unfortunately, try as we might, my blender just would not chop up the ice cube. It took more than five minutes minutes of starting, stopping, and crushing before we reached a suitable consistency, and by that point, the banana had already melted a lot, and the flavor of our single coconut milk ice cube did not really come through.

Granted, since this was still delicious since it just tasted like regular banana soft serve, but as our first attempt at the coconut banana flavor, it was a big fail.

Attempt #2: Refrigerated Coconut Milk

My other idea was just to add refrigerated coconut milk right from the can. I was concerned because I knew this would make the mixture more goopy, which it did, but it also let the coconut flavor shine through better.

For the final mixture, I used about half a can of coconut milk with about two bananas’ worth of frozen banana pieces. The end result was definitely more runny than I normally prefer my banana soft serve to be, but it did at least have a pleasant tinge of coconut throughout.

Moving On

After these two trial runs, I happened to talk to Lisa about our little experiment, and she was able to give me all of these amazing pointers, which made me feel more than a little embarrassed about our amateurish attempts. For example, she suggested that we may want to use coconut butter or even coconut meat instead of coconut milk, and that if we were going to use coconut milk, to make sure to use only the thickest, fattiest part of it. Also, she suggested we try adding in some cashews as well, just to preserve the consistency and get in some extra fattiness.

These all sound like excellent ideas (thanks Lisa!) and I’m dying to try them out soon. And when I do, you’ll be sure to hear all about them.

VeganMoFo #27/31

Until we eat again,

Willie

6 comments

  1. I would suggest using artisana coconut butter in the mix, just add it to your standard banana soft serve recipe. It packs tons of flavor in a small amount, and it will add fiber and a little healthy fat to it 🙂


    • Thanks for the tip! I will keep an eye out for that brand!


  2. Don’t forget coconut shavings!


  3. Yum. I usually use almond butter and a tiny bit of almond milk in mine but coconut sounds wonderful!


    • Nut butter is one of my favorite twists, as well!


  4. There is nothing wrong with delicious experiments. 🙂

    My best creations were discovered when I had absolutely no idea what I was doing. At least you had a plan.



Leave a Reply

