h1

Farmers’ Market Profiles: Earth & City

October 16, 2011

It’s Sunday again, so I’m here with another post in my new Farmers’ Market Profiles series. Today’s featured vendor is Earth & City, which has long been one of my favorite destinations at The Stop’s Saturday morning market at Wychwood Barns.

Here’s the most important thing you need to know about Earth & City: everything they make is ridiculously delicious (deliculous?). Though they’re a small stand, they offer a big variety of snacks, all 100% vegan and focusing specifically on raw and, most importantly, local ingredients. Their food, which ranges over sweet and savory dishes, always highlights the seasonal produce of the region, most of it procured from the very same farmers you find surrounding them at the market. When I visited yesterday, for example, they had some seasonal fruit tarts…

…and these new apple ginger snap cookies—two great ways to make use of the autumn’s apples!

Also for sale were their fabulous macaroons (to which I’ll just say: yesssss)…

…as well as their peanut butter thumbprint cookies (to which I’ll just say: more yesssss).

I was a little disappointed though to note the absence of my personal favorite of their desserts: their date squares, which they top with a variety of delectable frostings (mint is probably my fave). However, I was assured that they’ll probably be rolling out some date squares again later in the season, and with some new toppings!

Now on to the savory. Most of what Earth & City does on this end is wraps and such, like these raw burgers made with nutty patties:

And here’s the savory treat I decided to purchase today, their raw taco, filled with a nutty ground non-meat:

I really loved this: There was a nice spiciness throughout accentuated by the fresh crispness of local vegetables, and the collard green leaf made for an excellent wrap. But what I liked even more was what I picked up at my last visit—their raw pizza!

So good! This slice came on a soft and chewy dehydrated buckwheat crust, topped with a sundried tomato base, some sort of nut pate, and then tons of fresh tomatoes, peppers, and yellow squash. Loved it.

But what I really love about Earth & City is how they really show you all the incredible things you can do with what you find at your local farmers’ market. Their dishes are constant sources of inspirations for my own cooking, and they should serve as a model to everyone for how local, seasonal, healthy, cruelty-free, and most importantly, delicious food can all come together as one.

And if all that weren’t enough, the last great thing about Earth & City is that it is all run by the lovely dynamic duo of Cassandra Rizzotto and Lisa Sweetman, who are always so friendly and happy to see everyone (even when it’s 9 a.m. on a blustery weekend morning and gusts of wind keep trying to blow over their tent):

So check out Earth & City for yourself! Aside from Saturdays at The Stop, they also do the Sorauren Farmers’ Market on Mondays and Pedestrian Sundays in Kensington Market. You can always find the most up-to-date info on where they’ll be on their website, or better yet, follow them on Twitter. Just do whatever you have to do to find them and try their food—you won’t regret it, and that’s a promise.

VeganMoFo #16/31

Until we eat again,

Willie

One comment

  1. […] Finally, I will leave you as I pop a hundred of these peanut butter thumbprint cookies into my mouth from a Toronto farmers’ market via Until We Eat Again. […]



Leave a Reply

