h1

Chocolate Bean Butter (from Diet, Dessert & Dogs)

September 2, 2011

Hi all!

Sometimes, great recipes just fall into your lap. Or into your RSS feed. Whatever. The point is, a week ago I came across an amazing new recipe posted on the equally amazing Diet, Dessert & Dogs blog—namely, a recipe for Chocolate Bean Butter. Basically, this is a chocolatey spread, similar to Nutella I guess, except using beans as its base and much, much healthier ingredients all around. It’s a snap to whip up, and the taste is incredible. Really incredible. Like so-incredible-I-wasn’t-sure-how-much-I-was-going-to-be-able-to-scrape-out-of-the-food-processor-before-eating-it-all incredible. And since it’s got so many beans in there, it’s as guilt-free as it is indulgent. (Or so I tell myself.)

Since Ricki offers some options with her recipe, I wanted to note the specific choices I made on the batch I whipped up, in case anyone is looking for some further guidance:

  • I used red kidney beans as a base, simply because I misread the recipe, which calls for white kidney beans (or navy beans). However, MINE STILL TURNED OUT AWESOME.
  • For my chocolate, I opted for cacao powder, since that’s what I had in my pantry. The brand I used was Camino’s 100% Cacao Cocoa Powder.
  • For my sweetener, I used stevia powder, since I had never even heard of, much less knew where to find, coconut sugar. I found that 1 tsp (or 4 packets) total was the right amount for me, although if you really like a more bitter chocolatey taste, I think you could get away with only 3/4 tsp (or 3 packets).

Other than that, this recipe is very straightforward. Just put all the ingredients in a food processor, give it a whirl…

…and you’re done! This is definitely good enough to just eat by the spoonful, but I’ve also been enjoying mine with some homemade graham crackers, recipe courtesy of Oh She Glows:

Ahh, delectable! You guys should all make this chocolate bean butter right now. I promise you won’t regret it.

Until we eat again,

Willie

4 comments

  1. I’m so glad you liked the bean butter! And I’m sure that red kidney beans (or any beans, really) would work just as well–I just found that I liked the flavor better with white beans. I used the combination of coconut sugar (like brown sugar) and stevia because I know many people find stevia alone too bitter–so I’m double happy to read that you still loved it sweetened that way! Thanks so much for the shout-out. And looking forward to the Veg Fair!


  2. This looks awesome – and it just might be a suitable, healthy Nutella substitute! 😀
    It reminds me of the black bean brownies I made a while back… with an egg substitute, these would probably be pretty easily veganizable: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/black-bean-brownies/detail.aspx


    • Yes, three flax eggs or an appropriate amount of vegan egg replacer should do the trick on those black bean brownies! And while we’re on the topic, I’ve made these vegan black bean brownies from Happy Herbivore before: http://happyherbivore.com/2009/05/vegan-blackbean-brownies/ I don’t remember being blown away, but I think they were still pretty good!


  3. […] the work a little harder on myself by making my own graham crackers from scratch as well (which you may have noticed in this post), but overall the whole process was fun, and made a little easier by the fact that all the […]



Leave a Reply

