h1

Sushi Sandwiches, Vegan Style

August 12, 2011

Hi all!

As I’ve mentioned once or twice before on this blog, one of my favorite vegan restaurants in New York City is the cute little café known as ‘sNice, whether it be at its Park Slope or its Greenwich Village locations. Though I’ve been there many times, I’ve never left disappointed in the least. And several months ago, they blew me away yet again, with a sandwich I had never tried or even imagined before—a sushi sandwich! What’s that, you say? Well, it’s basically your typical sandwich (so two pieces of bread) except filled with everything you’d normally find in a sushi roll: avocado, carrots, cucumber, wasabi, pickled ginger, and seaweed. It may sound weird at first, but it really works. And so, after months of inaction, I finally got around to trying my own hand at making one, and the results were fantastic: just as good as I remembered it (and maybe even a little better, given the secret twist I came up with!). So, without further ado, let me break down the secrets to the sushi sandwich, ingredient by ingredient…

The bread: The ideal choice here is some sort of thickish roll. For the one above I used a long ciabatta, but a baguette would also work. Width is important, though: you want to have a lot of surface area to fill up your sandwich with all its other ingredients!

Seaweed: Cut some raw nori sheets to fit the size of bread. Place one on the bottom slice of bread, and cut out another to top everything off.

Avocado: This was really my one original twist on ‘sNice’s version, but it was a stroke of genius, if I do say so myself. My idea was to first mash up my avocado into something spreadable (in other words, guacamole consistency) and then, to mix the wasabi right into the avocado spread. This meant that every bite of the sandwich was reliably wasabi-y, and that even when a little avocado started falling off the side of the sandwich and you had to eat it separately, it still tasted sushi-ish. I also mixed in some dulse flakes to my avocado, but those are totally optional.

Carrots: I grated the carrots for my sandwich, but I think really thin, mandolin-fine slices would also work.

Cucumber: Here I used thin spears, which worked well, but could’ve been a little thicker I think, so as to add a little more crunchiness to the whole thing.

Pickled ginger: Just find some pickled ginger for sushi (the kind that’s usually used as a palate cleanser at sushi restaurants) and lay four to six slices on top of everything else.

And that’s all there is to it! Some of the ingredients are more specialized than usual, but the preparation itself is very easy and straightforward, and the taste more than makes up for any extra effort this sandwich may require. It’s fresh tasting and a fresh change of pace from your ordinary sandwich. Try it yourself! You won’t be disappointed.

And, if you’re looking for a slightly different take on sushi sandwiches, check out this recent post from the Tofu Princess, fellow Toronto vegan blogger extraordinaire. Hers looks delicious too!

Until we eat again,

Willie

3 comments

  1. one word. omnomnom! 🙂


  2. Thanks for the shout out, Willie ^.^ I’m gonna add pickled ginger next time I make mine!


    • You wouldn’t think it’d work, but it totally does!



Leave a Reply

