h1

Chive Edamame Hummus

March 6, 2011

Hi all! Told you I’d be back again soon. And, as promised, I have yet another hummus recipe to share! (Do check out yesterday’s Red Bean & Beet Hummus if you missed it—it’s superb.)

So what’s the enticing hummus you see above you? It’s an original recipe I’m calling, uncreatively, Chive Edamame Hummus. You see, it’s hummus, with chives and edamame in it. I got the idea because I generally love chive-y hummuses, and I thought it would be fun to complement the chives with a similarly colored bean base, for which green edamame beans were the obvious choice. Thankfully, the flavors ended up complementing each other as well! This isn’t the world’s most amazing hummus, but the little twists from the usual make it a nice dish overall. So without further ado, here’s the recipe. Enjoy!

Chive Edamame Hummus

Ingredients

  • 1 cup cooked great northern beans / garbanzo beans
  • 1 cup edamame beans (fresh or frozen and thawed)
  • 1/4 cup tahini
  • 3 tbsp lemon juice
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • lots of chives (I ended up using about 3/4 cup I think, but adjust to your personal tastes)
  • 2 to 4 tbsp water
  • salt, to taste

Instructions

  1. Combine everything in a food processor and process, adding more water if necessary to thin it out.
  2. That’s it. Hummus is so easy.

And for reference, here’s mine after it was done in the food processor:

Hope you like this one guys! I’ll be back again soon with more delicious food!

Until we eat again,

Willie

5 comments

  1. What an interesting hummus. 🙂
    I made this recently and thought it was phenomenal.. an Asian-twist on hummus with edamame: http://rhiw.blogspot.com/2010/12/edamame-miso-dip-with-black-sesame.html


    • Ooo that looks like a very tasty dip! I will probably give that a try real soon. Thanks for the link!


  2. My roommate and I love edamame! I’ll have to make this for us sometime. I can imagine it being a delicious treat with chips and/or pita bread 🙂


  3. […] of these spreads, is what keeps me coming back again and again. Not too long ago I posted some new hummus recipes I came up with, but today I want share something else from my ever expanding spreadable repertoire: […]


  4. […] from my absolutely fabulous Red Bean & Beet Hummus to my less astounding but still successful Chive Edamame Hummus to my celebratory Black & Gold Steelers Hummus. And this week I came up with yet another new […]



Leave a Reply

