h1

Black and Gold Steelers Cornbread

February 2, 2011

The big game is only a few days away! Are you excited?!

Today I’m here to share with you all my Steelers Superbowl side dish: Black and Gold Steelers Cornbread! Like my black and gold Steelers hummus recipe from a few days ago, this is another simple variation on a classic (although I can’t take credit for this idea—it was my father who suggested it to me). All I had to do was get out my favorite cornbread recipe (which happens to be this one, with the baking powder halved and the sugar doubled, but feel free to use whatever recipe you prefer), and then mix some poppyseeds into the batter (I’d suggest about 2 tbsp of poppyseeds for a normal, 8×8 dish batch). Just to keep things simple, I whipped up a half batch myself and baked this cute little loaf:

I really liked how this came out visually, and I really love cornbread, so this was great all around. Plus, it’d make the perfect side to some of my black and gold Steelers soup, if you’re looking for some more food to fill your Superbowl table. Here are a few more photos…

I hope this finds its way onto your table Sunday night (or any night, really—this variation is good enough to repeat even without the special occasion). I’ll be back tomorrow with one more Steelers recipe! Hold tight until then!

Until we eat again,

Willie

2 comments

  1. […] We Eat Again Adventures in Long Distance Cooking « Black and Gold Steelers Cornbread Black and Gold Steelers Rice Pudding February 3, […]


  2. […] and I knew I should share it with you. Sesame lovers unite! This cornbread may closely resemble the loaf Willie baked a few months ago, but I think the flavor and texture of this bread is quiet unique. The recipe is loosely based on […]



Leave a Reply

