h1

Black and Gold Steelers Hummus

January 30, 2011

Guess who’s going to the Superbowl!!

As you might have suspected after reading my last post, I was thrilled watching the Steelers trounce the Jets last Sunday—and their victory made my black and gold noodles taste all the more delicious. And now the Steelers are one game away from winning their seventh Superbowl title! Incredible. So to celebrate this monumental occasion, I’ve decided to whip up a big batch of Steelers-themed food: four dishes, to be precise, which I will be revealing one by one over the course of this week. They’ll all be continuing in the same black and gold theme, in honor of the Steelers’ colors—which, by the way, are not the easiest to cook with. Constraining myself to this visual theme has thus made me get a little inventive, but everything has turned out delicious nonetheless! I’ll be posting a variety of types of dishes over the next few days, so there should be something for everyone, and I hope some of them will find their way onto your Superbowl smorgasbord!

So without further ado, let’s get to today’s recipe, a fairly simple Steelers appetizer and dip: Black and Gold Steelers Hummus!

The black is from the black beans, which serve as this hummus’s base (as opposed to the traditional chickpeas), and the gold is from a generous smattering of corn kernels, which I mixed in at the end. I followed this excellent recipe in making my black bean hummus, but the great thing about this is that you could really use any black bean hummus recipe you have or can find. Simply follow those instructions, and then after everything is well mixed in your food processor, scoop out the hummus into a bowl and mix in your corn kernels (either fresh or frozen will do) with a spoon. And voilà—that’s all there is to it! It’s an easy and delicious Superbowl snack, and made even more festive when served alongside yellow tortilla chips (or even better, if you have a Trader Joe’s near you, these black and gold tortilla chips!).

So that’s today’s recipe. Come back throughout this week for more Superbowl party ideas. Unless you’re a Green Bay fan, of course; there will be no green and yellow food on this blog.

Until we eat again,

Willie

5 comments

  1. Don’t forget to listen to Sam Sparro’s excellent pop sleeper hit Black and Gold while you eat it!


  2. […] to share with you all my Steelers Superbowl side dish: Black and Gold Steelers Cornbread! Like my black and gold Steelers hummus recipe from a few days ago, this is another simple variation on a classic (although I can’t take credit for this […]


  3. […] Appetizer: Black and Gold Steelers Hummus […]


  4. […] Black as well as Gold Steelers Hummus « Until We Eat Again Tags: jets, victory […]


  5. […] Beet Hummus to my less astounding but still successful Chive Edamame Hummus to my celebratory Black & Gold Steelers Hummus. And this week I came up with yet another new hummus sensation, a little dip I’m calling […]



Leave a Reply

