h1

Christmas, with a little help from my friends

December 25, 2010

Happy holidays, readers!

At my house, Christmas Eve is when my immediate family gathers together for our main holiday dinner, and this year I was the family’s house-elf, responsible for planning the menu and cooking most of the food. Thankfully, I was not completely alone in this endeavor, as I had the much appreciated guidance of some of the many wonderful bloggers I follow, who give me the gift of wonderful recipes year-round. With their help, I was able to turn out a sumptuous feast of tasty and hearty—and vegan!—dishes. I don’t have much time to blog today (and you’re probably in a bit of a rush as well, if you’re reading this on Christmas Day), so here’s a quick run-down of the wonderful food we enjoyed last night.

From Cadry’s Kitchen: Asparagus Soup

I had made this before and really enjoyed it, and knew it would make a nice light start to our meal.

From Etsy: Broccoli-Stuffed Muffins

I had made these before as well, for my American Thanksgiving dinner, and my family requested them specifically after seeing them on the blog. These were just as tasty this time as they were before.

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Nothing special here, just some Brussels sprouts roasted in oil, salt, and pepper. But that’s all these need to be absolutely delicious.

From Choosing Raw: Warm Mustard Dressing with Tossed Salad

This tasty and tangy dressing made for the perfect compliment for the light salad we had on the side.

From Diet, Desserts and Dogs: Vegan Tortière

For the main event, I made Ricki’s amazing vegan version of this traditional Canadian meat pie. I really can’t think of a more perfect way to cap off our holiday feast.

And that’s all I have to share for today; here’s wishing you all a happy holiday season as well!

Until we eat again,

Willie

3 comments

  1. The Tortiere looks so yummy…I’ll have to try it sometime!


  2. […] of which I’ve even recreated here on this blog, such as our recent vegan (gnocchi) poutine, vegan tourtière, and my very own vegan spin on Timbits. But I have yet to discover any sort of flavors or […]


  3. […] that I’ve accumulated since I moved to Toronto (for the record, it’s three dishes long: tourtière, poutine, and bannock). The problem is that I just never come across many distinctly Canadian […]



Leave a Reply

