h1

Simple Delicious Gluten-Free & Vegan Cookies

July 6, 2010

Hi all!

The title kind of gives away the punchline of this post: today I’m here to share and promote this amazing cookie recipe I made a little while back, which aside from being super delicious is also a breeze to make and, on top of all that, gluten-free and vegan. What you see above is a batch of Sunflower Shortbread Button Cookies, made with the help of this recipe from Diet, Dessert and Dogs. As you may notice, the original recipe is for Pumpkinseed Shortbread Cookies, but as Whole Foods did not have any pumpkinseed butter when I went there, I opted for Sunbutter Sunflower Seed Spread instead, which the recipe lists as an acceptable alternative. And in fact, I think this only made the cookies better (I’ve tried pumpkinseed butter once before, and it wasn’t all that great).

Basically, these cookies taste just like those peanut butter fork-print cookies your mom used to make as a child (if you don’t know what I’m talking about, check out this picture), except better, and, I suppose, a little more wholesome for you. The ingredient list is a mere six items long, and the only gluten-free speciality ingredient it calls for is brown rice flour, which is fairly easy to find nowadays. More or less, all you do is mix the ingredients together and then shape into buttons and bake. And in only 12 minutes or less, out come cute and delicious shortbread cookies!

The one thing I’d note about this recipe is that you should make sure to go through these cookies fast (which shouldn’t really be a problem, seeing as they are de-li-cious). After a few days, I found that they started to get more crumbly and didn’t hold together as well as they did before. But aside from that, these cookies really were a dream, and no one will ever guess that they’re both gluten-free and vegan. So get off your computer and into the kitchen! These cookies are calling.

Until we eat again,

Willie

3 comments

  1. So glad that you liked the cookies! I bet they would be spectacular with sunflower seed butter–but pumpkin was what I had on hand that day, so pumpkin is what I made. My favorite version is to chop up some chocolate chips in the food processor before I mix the dough, then stir it into the batter at the last minute. Cookies with flecks of chocolate–yum! 🙂


  2. […] of vegan cooking and prove that it’s not all rabbit food. For my trip, I brought along some sunflower shortbread button cookies and coconut creme pie Vimbits, which were both fantastic, but the possibilities here really are […]


  3. […] all started when I had some sunflower seed butter left over from a recent batch of sunflowerseed shortbread button cookies (probably my favorite gluten-free cookie recipe, by the way). As I mulled over how best to use […]



Leave a Reply

