h1

Homemade Flautas & Guacamole

June 18, 2010

Hi all!

One of my favorite Mexican foods right now has to be flautas: crispy fried tortillas rolled up so they sort of look like flutes (hence the name). Until now, though, the only flautas I ever ate were the excellent ones made at Zefe’s, our local round-the-corner Mexican eatery. But last week, I thought it would be fun to see if I could make them myself. The result is what you see above. And here there are again up close:

The first thing I’ll say is that they’re very easy to make. We just followed this recipe from The Vegetarian Times, which provided easy-to-follow instructions for a simple black bean and corn filling and for how to make that filling into a flauta. But really, all you have to do is roll up some tortillas and then bake them for a while.

Now our flautas were nowhere near as good as Zefe’s, but that was to be expected. Also, ours were bean flautas, whereas the ones I’m used to from Zefe’s are cheese ones, and I think I definitely prefer the cheesy filling. Furthermore, our baking method didn’t seem to make for quite as crispy shells in the end, which are one of the major draws of the dish for me. However, we did come up with one way to really kick our flautas up a notch…

Yes, guacamole. Homemade guacamole. Always a welcome sight to my eyes. Caitlin prepared this as I was finishing up with the flautas, and when they were all done baking, we generously topped them off.

Mmm… seeing these is making me want guacamole again. Anyway, I hope you all enjoy your weekends, and I’ll see you again soon!

Until we eat again,

Willie

Leave a Reply

