h1

Indian, Quick and Simple

June 12, 2010

Yo!

I love Indian food. A lot. I would even dare to call it my favorite cuisine at times. Yet when it comes to making Indian food myself, I’ve always struggled. Granted, the Indian dishes I’ve made have never turned out horrible, but they’ve always seemed miles away from the food I enjoy so much at Indian restaurants. However, since the start of this year my Indian cooking has been getting much better, thanks primarily to Vegan Dad’s recent string of astounding Indian recipes. I’ve blogged about the great success I’ve had with several of his other recipes in the past, and today I’m here to bring you yet another success story called Khichdi.

I was curious about this Indian recipe because I’d never had or even seen it at any Indian restaurant before. Admittedly, that may just be because it’s so simple and straightforward: it’s basically just a hash of lentils and rice, cooked along with some onions, garlic, margarine, shallots, garam masala, and cilantro (check out the recipe for yourself here). Now from that ingredient list, you may think that this dish would turn out rather bland, but you’d be completely wrong. The flavors in the end turned out awesome and were not bland at all. Perhaps a close up will make the deliciousness shine through…

Overall, I can’t say that Khichdi is my favorite Indian dish ever, yet given its affordable ingredient list and its ease to make, I think you definitely get more out of this recipe than you put in. I will definitely make it again in the near future, and I will definitely have to restrain myself again from eating the whole pot in one night.

I hope you all get to enjoy the wonders of Khichdi yourselves sometime soon as well! Enjoy the rest of your Saturday!

Until we eat again,

Willie

Leave a Reply

