h1

Two Roommates, One Dinner

June 2, 2010

Sorry that we’ve been so inactive lately, folks! It’s actually not entirely our problem—our internet here at home in Brooklyn has been out for about the past week, and that really put a damper on my blogging ability. But now the internet (and us along with it) is back, and I’m here to share the last meal I have to blog about from before I left Toronto: a two-person joint venture between me and my roommate Vee!

I was understandably very excited when I heard that a fellow cook was moving into our house a couple months ago, and since she’s moved in we’ve spent a lot of time in the kitchen together. However, this meal was the first time we cooked for one another, and the occasion saw some very tasty dishes. I’ll start with Vee’s…

Vee’s main dish was this little bowl featuring tofu squares, tomato chunks, and pineapple tidbits. On top, if I remember correctly, was a sort of Chinese style sauce that Vee more or less improvised, and although I can’t provide more details as to what exactly went into it, I do know that it was very tasty, and the perfect accompaniment to the bowl’s main ingredients.

Vee also made a delicious side dish of sauteed bok choy. I love bok choy and it doesn’t need to be any more complicated than this for me to eat it all up, which is exactly what I did.

For my meal, I made some Asian-Style Tortilla Wraps, using a recipe from the wonderful 3 Bowls cookbook. I’d been making a lot of burritos lately, but this was my first crack at a distinctly non-Mexican style wrap. I started by making this amazing confetti-explosion-esque filling:

I can only vaguely recall everything that was in this skillet, but I know it included soft tofu, walnuts, carrots, onions, and spinach, and several other things as well. When I sampled the finished product, I knew these were going to be some awesome burritos: the filling was surprisingly fresh tasting and very true to its “Asian-Style” moniker. From this point, I simply loaded the filling into some tortillas, and then placed those tortillas in a baking dish to bake.

Thirty minutes later, they were ready to eat!

In the end, these burritos were just as satisfying as I suspected them to be from their filling, and I think Vee enjoyed them too! Overall, this meal was a wonderful night for me, giving me the opportunity to try out an awesome new recipe, eat someone else’s delicious cooking, and just enjoy a very nice meal with my new roommate. Hopefully we’ll get to do it again sometime soon!

Until we eat again,

Willie

Leave a Reply

