h1

Korean Burritos, pt. 2 (Plus Special Guest Photos!)

March 25, 2010

Dear friends,

Caitlin still has plenty of things to post about from her visit to T.O. last week, but I wanted to check it now and share with you my latest kitchen creation, another Korean/Mexican fusion (go here to see my first awesome endeavor if you missed it). This time, I decided to Korean-ize an old favorite: Sweet Potato Black Bean Burritos. The whole thing was pretty easy. I started off sauteing some onions and orange peppers, added some black beans and buckwheat, and mixed the whole thing with some mashed sweet potatoes. The Korean twist was two heaping spoonfuls of gochujang that I mixed into the sweet potatoes. This little addition didn’t completely change the flavor of the filling mixture, but it definitely added a nice Korean spiciness to the whole thing. Overall, these turned out super!

But enough talk—let me just show you how these turned out. And, as a special added bonus, all of the photos today are coming courtesy of my awesome photographer-roommate Greg! So enjoy the higher-than-usual quality of photographs today! (…And if like what you see and you’re getting married soon and in the Toronto area, let me know—Greg does weddings!)

Talk to you again soon!

Until we eat again,

Willie

3 comments

  1. […] readers of this blog will already know, I’ve been on a sort of burrito kick lately, and I was excited to try some new things out. This time around, I decided to go more […]


  2. […] some Asian-Style Tortilla Wraps, using a recipe from the wonderful 3 Bowls cookbook. I’d been making a lot of burritos lately, but this was my first crack at a distinctly non-Mexican style wrap. I […]


  3. […] this year’s new culinary favorite for me. I’ve blogged about many of my exciting past endeavors before, and today I’m going to bring you another tasty treat: Korean BBQ Tofu […]



Leave a Reply

