h1

Two Easy Asian Dinners

March 7, 2010

Hi friends!

Today I bring you two simple Asian dinners, though from very different parts of Asia. Thankfully, they were both from tasty parts of Asia.

This dish here is Aloo Gobi, made with the help of the new cookbook I received from my parents for Valentine’s Day, The Asian Vegan Kitchen. The cookbook is pretty neat, actually; obviously, it’s vegan, and it covers all parts of Asia, including India, Japan, China, Thailand, Vietnam, Burma, Indonesia, Malaysia, and Korea. The author herself is Indian but has lived in Japan for 27 years, so apparently she gets around. She also seems to know her way around the kitchen. This recipe for Aloo Gobi (Indian potatoes & cauliflower) was nice: simple and effective, with a tasty spiciness to it. I especially liked it because it made for an easy lunch to take with me to school during the week.

The other Asian meal I have to share is this Thai curry, largely a work of my own improvisation, but made with some guidance (or at least inspiration) from this recipe from Vegan Dad. I packed a lot into this little dish: broccoli, baked tofu, edamame, and peanuts, all swimming in a soupy sauce made from yellow curry paste and coconut milk. This was really really yummy, although I was happy enough that it wasn’t a complete disaster (working without a recipe can be risky for me!). But I have to say, one of the things I like most about Thai dishes is their vibrant colors. It’s fun to eat food that’s so nice to look at!

That’s all I have to share today, but I’ll be back soon with even more exciting things to show you!

Until we eat again,

Willie

Leave a Reply

