h1

Beans and Greens

March 6, 2010

Going to graduate school full time and working two internships can really make it tough to experiment very much in the kitchen. I have found that I really need to have a game plan set for the week by Sunday night, or by Wednesday night I’ll probably end up stuffing my face with stuff like this:

(thanks for the pic wikipedia!)

Recently, the solution to my post-night-class hangry-ness has been greens and beans:

The beans are soaked, cooked and stowed away by Monday evening and, most importantly, ready to be heated up with greens and a tasty sauce. The above bowl is composed of Carribean red beans and braised mustard greens in a Jamaican jerk sauce over quinoa. The jerk sauce is a jar my sister brought back after her last trip to Jamaica, watered down considerably though, because that stuff is intense.

Now, I don’t have any specific measurements, I usually base my proportions on taste and, you know, just how hangry I really am.

To break down the method in some very unscientific terms:

  • I would guess that the bean to green ratio is about 2 cups of tightly packed chopped greens to 1/2 to 3/4 cup beans.
  • dry cook the greens quickly (possibly with garlic and onion, if you’re into that kind of thing)
  • add a little liquid (in the above dish, I added water, braggs and about a tablespoon of jerk sauce). Add the pre-cooked (or canned) beans and simmer until the greens get nice and tender.
  • This process really only takes 10 minutes tops, so if you are going to pair it with a tasty grain, I would suggest you start the grain a little earlier.

These dishes have been a great and quick way to fill me up on nights following days that look like this:

(you really thought I could go without photo-documenting snowpocalypse 2010?)

Another variation that was not quite as spicy, but just as tasty was mustardy white bean bowl:

This bowl was a mix of white beans, black-eyed peas and mustard greens in a braggs-mustard sauce.

Honestly, if you haven’t tried mustard greens go out and do it now. When raw, they have an light peppery taste and, when cooked, they becomes much more mild but much richer. Also, they are currently in season. Yay for seasonal veggies!

Until We Eat Again,

Caitlin

P.S. By the way blogosphere, I have a new series of review posts that I simply can’t wait to share with you, so stick around if you are so inclined!

One comment

  1. I was going to say that this would make for a great “Cooking For One” post, but then I saw you already categorized it properly! Anyway, this definitely gives me some new ideas on how to deal with weekday no-time meals.

    Also, I really like your second snowy picture. If only I lived in a wintery place…



Leave a Reply

