h1

Cakes! (No, Not That Kind of Cakes…)

February 8, 2010

Dear Caitlin et al.,

This weekend I made some cakes! But not sweet dessert-y cakes, but dinner cakes! What am I talking about? Well, first of all, I’m talking about this Kimchi Pancake:

This big round of spicy cabbage goodness is very similar to Okonomiyaki, the Japanese dinner pancake, but uses Korean kimchi cabbage instead of normal shredded cabbage. I was pretty excited to try this out, as it’s been a while since I’ve had kimchi, and it was good, but I wish it was more spicy! I think frying it made it lose some of its heat. If you’re interested, you can find the recipe I follow here on Closet Cooking.

My other dinner cakes this weekend were smaller, and probably more appropriately called fritters. Still, they were cake-like, kind of like those silver dollar pancakes. Oh, except these were made with zucchini!

This recipe almost came from Closet Cooking, and it was very simple and very satisfying. Also, you get all these fritters from just one small zucchini! Amazing.

Finally, I have something to share that is not a cake:

This spread is a mix of hummus and babaganoush. I got the recipe idea from the 3 Bowls cookbook, who call this Bahumbagamus, which I just find impossible to say, so I’ve been referring to this as the more straightforward portmanteau of Babagahummus. But no matter what you call it, this little dish is mighty tasty, and has been providing me with a happy snack all weekend.

I hope your weekend was also filled with cake-y (and other kinds of) goodness!

Until we eat again,

Willie

One comment

  1. […] December, I think I was eating a big slab of Japanese okonomiyaki like every night for dinner. And earlier this year, I tried my hand at making a Korean kimchi pancake. This was my first time with the Vietnamese […]



Leave a Reply

