h1

Weekend Round-Up

February 3, 2010

Dear Caitlin (and everybody else!),

This weekend saw me working away in the kitchen, preparing tons of different meals and using up every single tupperware container I own! So let’s get right to it, and see what I’ve cooking! First up: Creamy Root Vegetable Soup!

Now you may not have heard this, but this past Saturday, January 30, was supposed to be the coldest day of the year. I think that date is just meant as a general rule of thumb for when you can except the worst of winter to come, but here in Toronto, the prediction came true—and in spades! The temperature was around -17 Celsius for most of the morning, which in Fahrenheit is 1.4 degrees, and that’s not even calculating in the windchill (and the wind was blowing, let me tell you)! Still, I didn’t let the harsh Canadian winter get me down—in fact, I managed to go for a jog and a bike ride during the day! But later that Saturday night, I felt that the best culinary response to the cold was a good hearty soup. I found this recipe in the 3 Bowls book, and it was fairly easy to make. Basically you just boil a bunch of different vegetables and then throw in some rosemary and creamed oats at the end; I also added some barley to mine. This is good, but the root vegetable flavor is a little much for me. However, if you’re really into root vegetables, I’m sure you’d love this soup. And I will certainly be happily eating for, oh, probably the next two weeks (it made so much soup!).

Along with this soup I also made one of my classic Veggie Bowls

However, this time I tried out a new sauce, inspired my a recent post by Heather of Hangry Pants! Now as some of you might know, one of my favorite Veggie Bowls is what I call MAN Sauce, for Miso-Agave-Nutbutter Sauce (recipe here). Heather’s recipe was very close to this, and similarly simple to whip up, and so I was intrigued. But as I didn’t have all of the called-for ingredients, I kind of gave it my own spin and made what I’m calling MAN Sauce 2.0, for Mustard-Agave-Nutbutter. And let me tell you—it is delish. Here’s the close-up:

The only problem with my first attempt here was that this made for way too much sauce (I think Heather’s original recipe might’ve been for two?). But I loved the flavors so much, I happily welcomed the opportunity to whip up the sauce again, this time in hopefully a more suitable portion. This second attempt also gave me the opportunity to try out this new Green Mustard I bought:

So I’d never seen green mustard before this. I don’t know if this is something everyone else is already aware of, or if it is as much of a oddity as I think it is, but I was really excited to try this out. Unfortunately (or maybe fortunately, now that I think about it), it doesn’t taste much different than regular mustard; the parsley, chives, and basil that give it its tint don’t do much to overpower its lovely dijon flavor. However, I love the color! It’s kind of like cooking with paint!

Anyway, I did make a new batch of MAN Sauce 2.0, and this time got the proportions just right. I also got a much slimier color:

Here’s the formula I used:

MAN Sauce 2.0 (Mustard-Agave-Nutbutter)

Ingredients

  • 1 tbsp nut butter (your choice)
  • 1 to 1.5 tbsp dijon mustard
  • 1 tsp agave
  • 1 tsp Bragg’s/soy sauce
  • 1 tsp rice wine vinegar

Instructions

  1. Whisk all ingredients together in a bowl until smooth
  2. That’s the only step.

Anyway, I highly recommend this! Here’s how it looked on top of all my veggies:

Last but not least, this weekend I also made some Tarka Dhal, following yet another excellent recipe from Vegan Dad.

I’m so thankful for all the delicious Indian recipes Vegan Dad has been posting lately. They’ve really been spicing up my dinners and keeping me nice and warm! (And in case you’re wondering, that naan is the background was store-bought, and it was delicious!)

So that was my weekend, more or less. I hope you enjoyed it, and I hope to see you back here soon!

Until we eat again,

Willie

3 comments

  1. Oops – yes, the sauce was definitely enough for me and Mark so 2+ people. 🙂


  2. […] of mashed rutabaga. I had half of a big ol’ rutabaga lying in my crisper (left over from my Creamy Root Vegetable Soup) and needed to figure out something to do with it. So I figure I’d give mashing it a shot, […]


  3. […] by. I’ve never seen it sold freshly baked at any bakery, and the grocery store brands that I’ve tried, though not bad, don’t come close to the real thing you find at Indian restaurants. […]



Leave a Reply

