h1

Here’s What I Made and Ate Yesterday!

January 30, 2010

Hello friends,

Here’s a quick rundown of what yesterday involved for me foodwise. For lunch, I made some improvised Baked Quinoa Macaroni:

I say “improvised” because I didn’t follow any sort of recipe in making this. Really, I just threw together a bunch of things I had lying around with some quinoa pasta. (Side note: this was my first time eating quinoa pasta, and overall I was pleased, although not blown away. Then again, I’m not a huge pasta fan to begin with.) As some of you (Caitlin) may know, I’m not the best culinary improviser. In fact, I’m not even a good one. I don’t know what it is, I guess I just still feel more comfortable following instructions. But this didn’t turn out too bad. Along with the quinoa macaroni, I put in a homemade tomato sauce with spinach and some cashew ricotta, and topped that off with lots of nutritional yeast and panko. I think I maybe should’ve let this bake for a little longer (I like a good crunch to my baked pasta), but overall it was fine. And I should have lots of leftovers to bring with me to school this week!

For dinner, my roommate Greg invited me to dine with him and some of his friends. We shared a nice little home-cooked meal:

Greg’s contribution was the stuffed red pepper, which was served with a delicious honey garlic sauce to go on top. My contribution was the salad on the right, which included my typical confetti-fest of greens and extras: romaine lettuce, spinach, collard greens, sunflower seeds, pepitas, cashews, dried cranberries, grated carrot and daikon, avocado, nutritional yeast and flaxseed meal sprinkled on top, and maple cinnamon vinaigrette served on the side. For dessert we had some cute little Italian amaretto cookies and (what else?) Tim Horton’s donuts. We also had a really good game of Settlers of Catan. So all in all, it was a very enjoyable evening! I’ll be back soon with more updates from my weekend kitchen.

Until we eat again,

Willie

2 comments

  1. That pasta looks super tasty! I think you could be a great kitchen improviser if you would just calm down about it! It most likely won’t be a disaster! And if it is, I’ll still eat it! 🙂


    • I can see it now… You receiving package after package of failed kitchen disasters from Canada…



Leave a Reply

