h1

Holy Oats!

January 16, 2010

Happy Saturday, everyone!

A week or so ago, I thought it would be a fun idea to try to cook my way through the Breakfast section of the 3 Bowls cookbook, having been very impressed by their Hearty Five Grain Porridge and Oatmeal Pancakes recipes. However, as I thumbed through the chapter, I quickly realized that I would not be able to realize this dream, as: (1) I do not own a waffle iron; (2) I’m pretty sure our oven is still not operational; and (3) I don’t really like Fruit Compote. But that still leaves a handful of recipes that I can happily whip up over the next few weeks! Today’s breakfast treat: Sweet Potato & Medjool Date Oatmeal!

Actually, the recipe in the book is for Sweet Potato & Apricot Oatmeal, but I decided to sub in dates for the apricots (which seemed to work deliciously, I might add!). Actually, this whole dish was delish: the sweet potatoes added a wonderful flavor to it, and the rolled oats were nice and hearty. I think I could’ve happily eaten this as is, but I enjoy throwing in a few extras with my oats, so I topped this off with some flaxseed meal, soymilk, and bananas!

The other nice thing about this recipe is that it takes only about 35 to 40 minutes to make from start to finish, and it yields between 3 and 4 servings (and that’s if you’re a growing boy like me!). So this is a sure winner in my book, and I’m looking forward to my next 3 Bowls breakfast endeavor. I should also have some exciting dinner meals to report later this weekend as well, so check back soon!

Until we eat again,

Willie

2 comments

  1. […] yesterday when I talked about wanting to cook my way through 3 Bowls’s breakfast chapter? Well I got […]


  2. […] of you may remember how in the past I’ve complained remarked that the oven in my kitchen hasn’t been working. A few […]



Leave a Reply

