h1

Mission: Get Caitlin Excited To Come Visit (Day 1)

November 22, 2009

Happy Sunday all!

As Caitlin’s Thanksgiving visit quickly approaches (now only four days away!), I am busy taking care of lots of schoolwork and making treats in preparation for her arrival. Yesterday I prepared two such treats, and I want to share them with you all and Caitlin now so as to get Caitlin extra excited to come visit!

First up, I made some Foolproof Granola! If you check out the recipe, you’ll see that this granola has 15 different ingredients! This looked delicious even before I put it in the oven:

So Caitlin, you’ll now have a big bag of granola waiting for you when you arrive!

The second treat I made was Vegan Moon Cakes. Unfortunately, these did not come off as well as the granola (note that they’re not “foolproof” moon cakes). I’m still not exactly sure what I did wrong, either. The recipe is fairly straightforward: you use a food processor to make one adzuki bean mixture and another almond meal mixture to coat scoops of the adzuki beans. However, when I tried to whip up the almond mixture, I ended up with a solid ball of dough—not meal-y at all! So I had to improvise, and instead of making nicely coated red bean cakes, I slapped some of the almond dough together with the adzuki beans. The result is not all that pretty, but the taste is still there.

So Caitlin, maybe these cakes don’t make you all that excited to come. But don’t worry—there will be more excitements in the following days!

Until we eat again,

Willie

Leave a Reply

