h1

Catching Up From a Hectic Week…

November 21, 2009

Hi everybody!

This week has been busy busy busy—hence my lack of posting. It also means that I haven’t been eating much blogworthy things. But I do have a few treats to share with y’all from the past week. Here are the highlights…

This little dish is sauteed broccoli rabe served over a white kidney bean puree! My mom sent me this recipe from a book she has in response to my previous request for recipes using nutritional yeast in a non-cheese-substitute-ish sort of way. In this dish, the nutritional yeast went into the puree and, thankfully, worked pretty well. This recipe also made for a lot of leftovers, which I’m still eating my way through.

I also whipped up a new batch of hummus this week! This is a slight variation on the Olive & Sun-Dried Tomato Hummus from Dreena Burton’s Eat, Drink & Be Vegan cookbook. Even though I’m not the biggest fan of olives, I decided to try this recipe because it was one of the few hummus recipes in the book I hadn’t yet tried and Dreena’s hummuses (hummi?) are all amazing. This hummus was no exception, although my lukewarm feelings toward olives make me prefer some of the book’s other recipes more.

I am also excited to report that this week, for the first time since I’ve been without my beloved rice cooker, I was able to successfully cook myself a bowl of rice! Only long time followers of this blog will appreciate what a big accomplishment this is for me.

Finally, I made some corn muffins! I used the same Recipezaar recipe I’ve used before and loved, and it was just as good in muffin form as it is as a loaf!

That’s all I have to report for now. However, as Caitlin’s Thanksgiving visit is quickly approaching, I will be making lots of exciting treats in preparation for her arrival and posting the results here! In fact, I’m going to go make some of those treats right now!

Until we eat again,

Willie

One comment

  1. i think the plural of hummus should be HUMMA KAVULA! 😀



Leave a Reply

