h1

Coconut Cream Pie Vimbits

November 9, 2009

Hi all!

P1020813

It’s been a while since I last blogged about vimbits, but rest assured that I’ve been continuing to make and eat them on a regular basis. Until now, I’ve been following the energy bar recipes in Brendan Brazier’s Thrive Diet, which have all been great (I think the Banana Bread flavor remains my favorite). Today, however, I decided to step out on my own and bring to you an original vimbit variety—and recipe!

The inspiration for today’s vimbits came from Lärabar, whose fruit and nut bars have become a recent favorite of mine (especially as they provide the perfect snack on my long bus rides to see Caitlin!). My favorite flavor so far has definitely been their Coconut Cream Pie (although they have many other wonderful varieties), so I thought I’d try my hand at recreating its goodness. The nice thing about Lärabars, of course, is that they only use a handful of natural, whole food ingredients, making recipe replication a snap (no need for xanthum gum here!). I had to guess on the exact amounts of each ingredients, but judging by the way these guys taste (that is, incredible!!), I’d say I guessed right. Here’s the recipe.

P1020811

Coconut Cream Pie Vimbits

Ingredients

  • 1 cup medjool dates (I use dried ones that I soaked for approx. 8 hours beforehand)
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1/4 cup almonds
  • 1/4 cup cashews
  • 1 tbsp flaxseed meal (optional)
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin coconut oil (optional)

Instructions

  1. Place almonds and cashews in food processor and pulse until finely chopped.
  2. Add in dates, coconut, and flaxseed meal. Process until well combined. (My food processor always gives out before everything really gets mixed; if yours does too, that’s okay, just proceed to the next step.)
  3. Transfer mixture to a large bowl. Mix in coconut oil with a fork or other utensil.
  4. Shape into small vimbit-sized vimbits with a spoon. Store in the fridge for future use.

I say the flaxseed meal because (a) it’s not included in the official Lärabar formula, and (b) I just tend to add flaxseed meal to everything these days. The coconut oil is also optional in my opinion because the mix is really good enough without it; the oil just makes them a little more smooth. In other words, if you don’t have coconut oil already, don’t go out of your way to get it for this recipe (although I do generally find it a very handy thing to have in one’s kitchen.)

UPDATE: The coconut oil actually makes more of a difference than I first realized, as it makes the vimbits get much more solid after they’ve been in the fridge. With other recipes I’ve tried, my vimbits ended up very soft and shapeless, but these coconut cream pie vimbits hold their shape remarkably well. I’m excited to make this recipe again so I can try making vimbit bars! Stay tuned for further updates.

P1020816

I hope you enjoy this recipe, as well! Vimbits provide the perfect boost of energy for a long, busy day. And these ones are so good, you’ll be glad when you need the energy!

Until we eat again,

Willie

6 comments

  1. Oh these look so exciting!

    One question though, how much coconut?


    • Arg, I always do that! It’s fixed now.


  2. […] I also finished off my last batch of Coconut Creme Pie Vimbits, so I made a new batch right away! This time I tried a new recipe idea: Pecan Pie Vimbits! I sorta […]


  3. […] up, a new round of Vimbits, carrot cake […]


  4. […] even recreated here on this blog, such as our recent vegan (gnocchi) poutine, vegan tourtière, and my very own vegan spin on Timbits. But I have yet to discover any sort of flavors or seasonings or culinary techniques that define […]


  5. […] not all rabbit food. For my trip, I brought along some sunflower shortbread button cookies and coconut creme pie Vimbits, which were both fantastic, but the possibilities here really are […]



Leave a Reply

