h1

Returned due to insufficient postage

November 4, 2009

I shall begin this post simply with:

GO SABRES!

Now that that is out of my system…

I don’t have much exciting food news to share with you today, mostly because I gave been eating primarily leftovers from Willie’s visit this past weekend. We ate some pretty exciting food that Willie will brief you on some time in the near future…

My fourth of November was relatively eventful!

Though for the second time this week I was unable to use the washroom before leaving the house (go figure that it would be my male roommate who needs at least an hour in the washroom every morning), I had a pretty good start with some hot kashi before scooting off to Columbia for a site visit at the Music and Arts Library. As I was leaving the library, I noticed a tour being given just outside the building. At first I thought, “Wow. Columbia tour guides look so much classier than Pitt’s pathfinders…” Then, I paused as I was passing the group and realized that the tour was being given by a newly familiar face… Danielle van de Kamp from Desperate Housewives!

Okay. Yes. I watch Desperate Housewives. I just started watching a few weeks ago and now I am slightly (and apparently unabashedly) obsessed. In other words, it was a fitting time for my first unplanned celebrity siting in NY.

After my afternoon class, in another planned celebrity siting, or, more appropriately another planned-minor-television-personality siting, I headed over to the Union Square Barnes & Noble to see John Hodgman read some stuff from his book, give some A’s to some Q’s and signs some books. Now, I have loved John Hodgman since I first listened to his Hobo names 4 years ago and I must say he did not disappoint.

mmi

I would apologize for the poor quality phone photo, but it makes it seem as though I used a lovely soft-lens type photoshop filter. Although maybe I should apologize for visually likening him to Barbara Streisand? Anyway, I was lucky enough to get a front-row-center seat so that I could appreciate his three-piece corduroy suit up close.

If you haven’t checked out Areas of My Expertise or his new book, More Information Than You Require, I would highly recommend them, especially if you only know Hodgman from his role as the PC in mac ads.

Alas, for now, I must part with you dear reader(s) so that I can winnow down my google reader list…

Picture 8looks like I have  a lot of Canadian spaghetti squash to look forward to…

 

Oh, and one last strange picture:

Picture 13Apparently, sometimes, I do not own my identity.

 

Until We Eat Again,

Caitlin

Leave a Reply

