h1

Sidd<3ha

October 23, 2009

Dear Caitlin & co.,

Tonight I had the pleasure of going out to my first Indian restaurant in Toronto with my roommates. Morgan, more or less a Toronto native, took us to this great place east of the metro area in Little India, which is an awesome little neighborhood filled with Indian fashion boutiques and food places. Unfortunately, the weather was fairly nasty tonight, so we didn’t have much chance to explore the area, but we did squeeze in an amazing meal at Siddhartha, Morgan’s Indian restaurant of choice. My judgment: Morgan makes good choices.

We also opted for the buffet tonight, which would normally make me a little weary, but did not disappoint at all. Siddhartha’s buffet is large, varied, very vegetarian friendly, and reasonably priced ($14). I was able to fill my plate with all sorts of Indian goodies (sorry for the low picture quality—it was taken at a restaurant!):

P1020704

I can’t remember all the different dishes you see on my plate, but they include: Nan, Rice, Saag Paneer, Chana Masala, Aloo Gobi, Bhindi something something, Cabbage, Vegetable Curry, Vegetable Pakora, and probably some other things. And they were all excellent! Seriously. In fact, I did something I rarely do at Indian buffet—my second plate was basically the same exact stuff, since nothing the first time around disappointed!

And did I mention that they also had dessert?

P1020708

Clockwise from top, that’s mango and banana ice cream, semolina (cream of wheat) sweet cube something or other, Gulab Jamun, and grapes. My favorite was definitely the Gulab Jamun, although nothing there disappointed. Oh, and Caitlin, just so you know: They also had rice pudding. It looked good, but, as you know, it’s not for me.

I also have some pictures of me and my dinnermates! First, a rather blurry photo of me and Morgan:

P1020707

And then an adorable photo of my two French roommates, Yamina and Gilles:

P1020706

Anyway, that’s all I have to report for tonight! I highly recommend Siddhartha to anyone in the GTA, or to anyone who is visiting the GTA and wants her boyfriend to take her out somewhere nice and delicious.

Until we eat again,

Willie

Leave a Reply

