h1

Brassica oleracea

October 21, 2009

I have a confession to make.

I have never liked brussel sprouts.

I know. Ridiculous. I normally love any food that is green and has sprout in its title!

Anyway, brussel sprouts were always something I wanted to love, but it just didn’t happen. Well, it didn’t happen until tonight.

brussel sprouts

When I came across Zesty Cook’s recipe for figged and maple roasted brussel sprouts, I figured I had to give these petits choux another shot. It was a very very good idea. This recipe is super simple and super delicious! I would highly recommend giving this one a try! (That is, if you like sprouty, figgy, mapley things… but, I mean, who doesn’t?)

In other news:

big big apple

I ate one of the big apples today. I can’t believe I ate the whole thing. I had this at about 8:30 am and didn’t get hungry again until 4pm. This picture may not give you a great understanding of the size unless you know that I have gigantic Polish hands.* You might want to check out this post to see a comparison of this apple to Brodie’s head.

I’m hoping I’ll have time to post again tomorrow, because I have an exciting meal to share! We shall see…

Until We Eat Again,

Caitlin

* I discovered while in Poland that many of the women have unusually long/large hands (not man hands). I no longer felt weird about my gigantic Polish hands when I realized it was probably part of my heritage.

3 comments

  1. Wow that brussel sprouts recipe looks good! I look it convert me to a brussel sprout person as well! And a fig person to boot! I will definitely have to think about making it sometime… or perhaps you’d like to prepare for me when I see you in like 9 days?!

    Also, did you mean the asterisk after Polish hands to refer anywhere?


    • maybe and yes.


  2. […] readers will remember Caitlin making this not too long ago; the recipe comes originally from Zesty […]



Leave a Reply

