h1

Perfect for a work-filled Saturday morning!

October 17, 2009
Dearest et al.,

Since Willie’s departure for cooler climes, my life has been relatively uneventful. I have spent my days working and winnowing down the amount of Canadian Thanksgiving leftovers in the fridge. I think I will have just enough time to recoup from the Canadian food coma to prepare myself for the American food coma next month…

Yesterday, I felt ready to bake and decided to veganize an old coffee cake recipe!

It's a bundt!

This is an old recipe I found from Mama Gorzelnik, an old family friend. The recipe in this post has both the vegan and non-vegan ingredients and should fit neatly into a standard nine-inch loaf pan. In order to make a gigantic bundt like I did, you should double the amounts I have in the recipe below. The full recipe definitely makes a lot of coffee cake, but as Mama Gorzelnik notes; this loaf freezes really well.

Mama Gorzelnik’s Veganizable Coffee Cake

Cake Ingredients

  • 1+3/4 cups Whole Wheat Flour (or 2 cups All-Purpose Flour)
  • 1 cup Sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon Salt
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1 “egg” (I used flax eggs, but I think applesauce or mashed banana would work great!)
  • 1/4 cup Oil (I used EVOO since I had it on hand, but the I’m sure Mama G intended vegetable oil to be used)
  • 1 cup “buttermilk” (I used sour soy milk [soymilk+a little cider vinegar])
  • Cinnamon Sugar (I mixed 1/4 cup +2 tablespoons sugar and 1 heaping tablespoon of cinnamon)
  • Instructions
      1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
      2. Grease pan or line with parchment paper.
      3. Mix all dry ingredients (including sugar).
      4. Add oil, “eggs” and “buttermilk”
      5. Pour about a third of the batter into your pan and sprinkle some of the cinnamon sugar on the layer.
      6. Continue to layer batter and cinnamon sugar until you’ve used all the batter and top with remaining cinnamon sugar.
      7. If you want to add a few bits of butter/margarine to the top feel free (I didn’t)
      8. Bake for about 40 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. (if you go for the doubled bundt recipe it will take somewhere between and hour to an hour and fifteen minutes)
      9. Enjoy! It tastes especially delicious with a little tofutti cream cheese and, if you wanted to eat this more like a cake, cream cheese icing would be a great topper!

    Well, I hope you will enjoy this cake! In case you are not in a baking mood, maybe you will enjoy seeing some cute pictures?

    Brodie's New Coat

    The bird that woke me up this morning

    Until We Eat Again,
    Caitlin
    Leave a Reply

