h1

Kluski z Makiem!

October 8, 2009

Dzień Dobry!

Don’t worry, this post won’t be in the polski! I thought I would post a small fun recipe today.

This dish, Kluski z Makiem (egg noodles with poppy seeds), is a Polish classic, sort of… It was a common dish among the lower classes when there was rationing, but it is quite a delightful dish. Okay, I’ll be honest, not everyone is a fan of this dish, but it’s simple, quick and worth trying, because if you do like it, it’s a great go to dish when you are in a hurry and want something filling.

IMG_4208

Traditionally, this dish is made with egg pasta, poppy seeds, butter and sugar/honey. When I make it, I try to use egg-free pasta and, if I have a little time, I make my own pasta. This recipe is particularly tasty and simple: Fresh Vegan Pasta. The following recipe is my updated or “Nowy Świat” version.

The proportions are really  to your taste, but I’ll give the basic guidelines:

“Nowy Świat” Kluski z Makiem (for one serving)

Ingredients:

  • about 1 cup “egg” noodles
  • 2 tablespoons poppy seeds (or more, a lot of traditional recipes call for A LOT of poppy seeds)
  • 1 + 1/2 – 2 tablespoons olive oil/earth balance
  • 2 tablespoons chopped crystalized ginger (or a tablespoon of agave)

Instructions:

  1. cook pasta according to package (or recipe) instructions.
  2. heat oil/earth balance in a medium saucepan. Add poppy seeds and heat for a minute or two.
  3. mix in ginger (if using agave, save until later) then add pasta.
  4. Heat it all through and mix well.
  5. If using agave, pour it on top after you put it in the bowl.
  6. Smacznego!

IMG_4209

As Willie mentioned in his last post, he arrives in NYC tomorrow! This will probably mean lots of fun adventures to share within the next few days, so make sure to check in same bat time, same bat channel later!

Until We Eat Again,

Caitlin

One comment

  1. Oh, just so you know, this time I topped the kluski with some nootch… that’s what the yellow flaky stuff on top is… Wow, I really make nutritional yeast sound yummy don’t I?



Leave a Reply

