h1

More Meals

October 4, 2009

Dear Caitlin,

What does this experience say about me as a foodie? This afternoon I needed to go to Fiesta Farms (the local—and super!—supermarket) to pick up some avocados, as I no longer had any at home for my daily salad. (Usually I am not so negligent about my avos and buy them 2 or 3 days in advance to give them time to ripen, but given this week’s hectic nature and rainy weather, I had missed some of my normally frequent grocery stops.) Anyway, when I entered the store, I was shocked to see that the space where I would usually find a heaping pile of avocados was completely occupied by an overflow of mangos! I tried lifting up some of the mangos to peer underneath, but to no avail. My beloved avocados were nowhere to be found! I don’t think I’ve ever felt so crushed inside, like the world around me was crashing down. I didn’t know what to do, and when an employee informed me that they had indeed run out of their avocado supply, I saw my life (or rather, my lunch) flashing before my eyes. But then he directed me their smaller supply of organic avocados, which, though unfortunately twice as expensive, saved my day. This is just what avocados can do to you sometimes. I hope everyone reading this can relate.

Anyhoo, I have a few quick things to share from this weekend. First, the two courses of last night’s dinner!

P1020533

This was last night’s main course, Vegan Mac ‘n’ Cheese! I used the recipe that you linked to in your previous post, and I was very pleased. I enjoyed it straight up with some whole wheat macaronis, but I definitely see how veggies would make it even better. However, I was totally wrong in thinking I could handle two servings of this recipe. Fortunately, that just means that I have some leftovers for later this week!

Along with this, I prepared a cute little sidekick:

P1020537

Don’t be fooled—that ain’t mango or papaya or even some weird kind of sweet potato. It’s butternut squash, roasted and with rosemary! These slices and rings were very delicious, and very autumnal. What’s more, the leftovers (which I ate tonight) were even tastier, as they got a little crispier after sitting in the fridge overnight. I know this isn’t anything too complicated, but sometimes the simplest things can be the most satisfying!

Finally, I wanted to share with you the new dressing I whipped up today:

P1020539

This is Gena’s Maple Cinnamon Vinaigrette, and it’s absolutely amazing! It’s super delicious and a totally original flavor (at least to my palate), but what’s most impressive is that Gena knew to post this recipe right as I was finishing up my last homemade salad dressing, and she knew to only call for ingredients that I already had at hand! Thanks, Gena for your (though probably unintended) sagacity!

That’s all I have to report for now. Warning for the week ahead: The next few days are probably not going to see any exciting food posts from me, as I will be sticking mainly to leftovers. However, once Friday comes around I will be in NYC with Caitlin, which is sure to provide plenty of awesome things to blog about! Have a good week, everybody!

Until we eat again,

Willie

One comment

  1. How I wish I could take credit for that wisdom! But I think we’ll have to thank fate 🙂



Leave a Reply

