h1

Celebrating Corn Flakes

September 24, 2009

Back in the ‘burgh, we had an annual (sometimes tri-annual) celebration of corn flakes. Really, this meant that my Polish teacher would bring in corn flakes and lots of fixins to add to them in an effort to practice the instrumental case. Now, I sort of doubt that this is an actual Polish holiday, but I think it is a worthwhile celebration of a wonderful treat that was developed by John Harvey Kellogg to become part of a healthy, balanced and VEGETARIAN breakfast! Yes, that’s right, JHK was a big advocate for vegetarianism!

In class, our celebration usually meant eating bowls of cornflakes with beer, jam, milk (sometimes half and half…) and stuff like that. My favorite addition was corn flake cookies. Over the years, I have tried many recipes for cornflake cookies trying to find just the right one. I think I have finally developed my favorite incarnation… though they don’t actually contain corn flakes….

cookies!

“Corn Flake” Carob Chip Cookies!

Ingredients:

  • 1 flax egg
  • 1/3 cup of margarine (I use earth balance)
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1 TB “milk”
  • 1 tsp ‘nilla extract
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • scant 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • dash of nutmeg (if you are into that sort of thing…)
  • about 1/2 cup of carob chips (you could also use chocolate chips)
  • about a cup of lightly crushed Nature’s Path Heritage Flakes (feeel free to use any flake cereal, I would also recommend Nature’s Path’s corn flakes or mesa sunrise)

To Bake:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Soften the margarine by either letting it sit out or nuking it a bit.
  3. Mix flax egg, margarine, sugar, “milk” and ‘nilla extract.
  4. Once well combined, add flour, baking soda and nutmeg.
  5. Add carob chips and Flaky cereal of your choosing
  6. Bake for 9-12 minutes.

makes about 2 dozen Caitlin-style cookies (about a tablespoon of dough for each cookie).

IMG_4096

SMACZNEGO!

IMG_4030

Until We Eat Again,

Caitlin

2 comments

  1. Caitlin. Make me some!

    Oh, and I linked your blog. It is tres deliceux and quite fantastic! 🙂


    • Thanks! I’m glad you like it! I’m trying really hard not be be delinquent about it… We have to meet up again soon and with Lianne!



Leave a Reply

