h1

Afternoon Smoothie Delight!

September 24, 2009

While I prepare the sweet treat that I promised last night, I thought I would share with you another sweet treat I discovered over at Closet Cooking.

blueberry Maple Smoothie

Blueberry Maple Oat Smoothie

Willie may remember Closet Cooking from the delicious kare pan recipe of his we tried. Seeing as I had all of the ingredients on hand, I decided to give this blueberry maple (overnight) oat smoothie a try. The recipe makes two cups this size. It was fabulous!

Today, I decided to try a little substitution magic…

Mango agave oat smoothie

Mango Agave Oat Smoothie

So, I really just subbed mango for blueberries and agave for maple syrup, but this was also really delicious. I think this recipe lends itself quite well to getting creative with your fruits and sweeteners. Flax seed meal was also a fun addition! I look forward to trying more combos!

IMG_4094

And, for anyone who doesn’t follow Wil Wheaton on twitter, this picture made me “lol,” but in a sort of sad way…

I guess as a former Vampire: Blood and Empire Teaching Assistant, I should be glad about this proliferation of vampire texts…

Until We Eat Again,

Caitlin

2 comments

  1. Definitely going to have to try out an oat smoothie sometime soon. I haven’t gotten any yogurt since I’ve arrived here, but this may convince me to pick some up!


    • when buying the yogurt, I would advise against wild wood organics… as much as i liked the tofu, their soy yogurt was kind of narsty… it worked fine in the smoothies, but I wouldn’t eat it by its lonesome…



Leave a Reply

