h1

Sproutastic!

September 21, 2009

Kaixo!

Guess what fabulously delicious surprise was awaiting my return from class today?

I’ll give you some hints…

  • It’s sprouted.
  • It’s delicious.
  • It’s Flourless.
  • It’s seedy to the max! (in the best possible way…)
  • It’s… well… It’s killer!

DKB

That’s right! It’s Dave’s Killer Bread!

Dave's Killer Bread Bag

If you are aren’t already familiar with the awesomeness that is DKB, Dave offers quite a selection of vegan, whole-grain, GMO-free, organic, delicious and healthy breads. Dave’s story is also really interesting and inspirational.

Though, I don’t think Dave’s is available in stores here on the east coast, you can order his bread online here! I got my hands on some by winning a giveaway a few months ago at Care to Eat. (By the way, THANK YOU ANDREA!! Best. Giveaway. Ever.)

In my package I received:

  1. 1 loaf of Flourless Sprouted Wheat Bread (ingredients: Organic sprouted wheat, water, organic good seed mix [organic whole ground flaxseeds, organic sunflower seeds, organic whole flaxseeds, organic unhulled sesame seeds, organic black sesame seeds, organic poppy seeds], organic evaporated cane juice, organic vital wheat gluten, organic molasses, yeast and sea salt) I know. That is a whole lot of goodness.
  2. One Dave’s Killer Bread T-shirt! (I will post a photo of myself enthusiastically sporting the tee at a later date and time)
  3. Stickers! (one of which is now prominently displayed on my laptop, in between the Washington state parks sticker and the world zombie day sticker.)

If you are wondering how I chose to celebrate this culinary godsend, check this out:

open face sammies

Open-face sandwiches! The featured players are: Jersey Tomatoes, Avocado, Wildwood Organics SprouTofu (pan fried in some nootch, salt and pepper), Alfalfa Sprouts and some of the Cayenne Dill Tahini dressing that Willie made in this post.

My conclusions after eating my first 3 slices of Dave’s Killer Bread:

Get some as soon as possible and then try not to eat a whole loaf in one sitting.

I dare you.

Until We Eat Again,

Caitlin

P.S. You could at least follow Dave on Twitter

One comment

  1. I am so so so jealous. Any chance of freezing one piece until early October? It’d only be for like two and a half weeks. 🙂

    I just realized: I’m going to see you in two and a half weeks!!



Leave a Reply

