h1

On The Go Salad… At Home

September 18, 2009

Dear Caitlin,

Today (like all Thursdays will be this semester, I fear) was a packed day! It started early—a two hour Greek reading session of Aristotle at 9:30—and knowing that, I woke up even earlier to fix me some eats to bring along with me. I made another Chocolate Almond Smoothie and put together a super salad, bringing along a banana, an apple, and two Vimbits along with that, so I felt super prepared for the day!

As it turned out, I ended up drinking all my smoothie during the reading session, avoiding chowing down on my food, for fear of being asked to translate Greek with my mouth full. After the reading group wrapped up, I ate my banana and a Vimbit, and these propelled me well through the afternoon. In fact, once three o’clock rolled around and it was time for me to head off to the farmers’ market, I still had not yet gotten hungry again, so I ended up taking my specially prepared salad back with me. After the farmers’ market, I arrived home, properly hungry again, and devoured my salad, along with the apple and the other Vimbit I brought with me in the morning. Then, at around five, I headed back to school for my night class, bringing an apple and yet another Vimbit along to keep me focused. A few of us went out for beers again this week (I had another wonderful Wellington pint), and when I got back home I treated myself to some Kamut Krisp cereal.

So all in all, it’s been a pretty wonderful day. Sorry for the lack of pictures, and for the itemized style of this post. Tomorrow there should be some exciting new foods on my plate, and I’ll make sure to tell you all about them, as always. 🙂

Until we eat again,

Willie

Leave a Reply

