h1

Improvisin’

September 9, 2009

Dear Caitlin,

Gnocchi

It’s a great feeling when a cooking experiment turns out well. I mean, it’s not that hard to follow a recipe and create a scrumptious meal, but having to make dinner from scratch with no guidance is something that’s always made me nervous. Thankfully, though, sometimes it all just works. It makes me feel like all the time I’ve been spending in the kitchen is finally paying off.

Last night, I was faced with the task of (yet again) using up some of my refrigerator leftovers. The main thing I wanted to finish was the final serving of gnocchi left in my bag. (I got four whole servings out of this purchase, so not a bad deal!) But what to serve it with? I finished up the last of my pesto the night before, and didn’t have any other ready-made sauces. But I did have a bag teeming with sunburst tomatoes, which were starting to look sort of bad. I wasn’t sure how much longer they’d be good to use in salads, so I decided to use a big handful to make a simple (sunburst) tomato sauce. It was wonderful!

Gnocchi Close-up

Moreover, it was really easy! I just chopped the tomatoes in half and then heated them up in a frying pan, letting them get all juicy and lose some of their shape. At the end, as the gnocchi was just about finished cooking, I sprinkled generous amounts of basil, oregano, and nutritional yeast on top, tossed it all together, and then plopped it on the gnocchi. The tomatoes still tasted very fresh and their sweetness really complimented the starchiness of the gnocchi well, I thought. But most of all, I was just thrilled that a complete “shot in the dark” dinner turned out to be completely satisfying.

Later that night, I decided to try my hand at making cornmeal wafers, like we did at the Hot Yam lunch a couple weeks ago. The recipe is super simple, but I want to perfect it some before posting it up here. My wafers should’ve been baked a little longer I think (they were a bit too cakey), and I also should’ve spread the “dough” out a little thinner on the pan. But they were still very tasty and made for a pleasant nighttime snack. Here are some pictures of the process. When they came out of the oven…

Cornmeal Wafers 1

after they were cut up…

Cornmeal Wafers 2

and when they were all done!

Cornmeal Wafers 3

That’s all I have to say for now. It’s my first day of school, but I don’t have classes, so I guess it’s my first day off from school? This might mean some more cooking…

Until we eat again,

Willie

2 comments

  1. So I found out that Timbits are the Tim Horton version of Munchkins from Dunkin Donuts. But what are the Vimbits Willie mentions?



Leave a Reply

