h1

A Hearty Lunch Before Starting the First Day of the Rest of My Life!

August 26, 2009

Ciao Willie!

I was super nervous all day waiting for my SILS orientation tonight! To get out some of my stress, I thought I would prepare a special lunch for myself.

closeup saladlarge saladbutternut squash soup

First, I made myself a hugh jass kale salad with a lemon vinagrette, some basmati and cucumbers (I also added sunflower seeds after I took the pics). I suppose a little more exciting was sweet-roasted butternut squash soup! I roasted the squash in the sauce Crescent Dragonwagon suggested in that recipe I had with the polenta earlier and, when it was done, I blended it with some thyme and almond milk. Really delicious I must say! I think it would be even better with coconut milk… I also mixed the leftover rice into my bowl.

So, after putzing around the house nervously, I headed to 14th street for my new grad student orientation! It was really great! I’m glad it went well considering the Brooklyn orientation was pretty horrible… Once again, NY librarians are the coolest! I learned a lot about student organizations I definitely want to join and got a lot of other useful info too. This is going to be such an exciting program! There were some really great little desserts at the reception too! I also thought I would take a picture of the Pratt Swag I came home with:

Pratt Swag

In addition to informative materials, there was a planner, NYC cycling map, subway and campus map, luggage tag, lots of pens, a magnet, a minature first-aid kit and a really cute SILS tote!

Everyone is so friendly and I really can’t wait to start on this new path! It’s going to be a lot of hard work, but there are so many great opportunities and choices! The hardest part might be deciding what to do first!

Okay, gotta go. Alton Brown is making cinnamon buns.

Until We Eat Again,

Caitlin

One comment

  1. That swag is awesome!! I’m very jealous. My orientation is not for another week, and I don’t know if I’ll even get any swag… 😦

    BTW, I will hopefully be posting something new tonight!



Leave a Reply

