h1

Backblogging Pt. 1: Tuesday’s Meals and Recipe Intergortion

August 20, 2009

Dear Caitlin,

Aah, I’m so behind on my blogging! I guess moving to Toronto is a good enough excuse, though, right? I have so much to blog about, and I think I’m going to do it in installments rather than cram them all on one post. So first, here were my meals from Tuesday, the day before I left.

Lunch was leftovers, but leftovers I had never had (they were made while I was off visiting you in NYC). So they were as good as new! Here’s the spread:

Leftover Lunch

On the left is a simple tofu dish my mom made with peas and a light garlic sauce. It was nice because the tofu came from the local Asian store and thus absolutely delicious. Here’s the close-up:

Tofu Close Up

The other dish was the quinoa mushroom nut loaf featured in the “3 Bowls” book. I know you’re not the biggest fan, and I can’t say that this loaf was any better than the times we made it, but I still enjoy this recipe. I’m also very interested in trying it (or some other sort of loaf) with my new favorite red quinoa. Here’s the close-up, for what it’s worth:

Mushroom Quinoa Nut Loaf Close Up

Dinner on Tuesday was my responsibility, and I decided to experiment with some recipe synergy and combine two VeganDad recipes into one. Okay, it wasn’t much of a synergistic combination; I basically just made his Thai-Style Sweet and Tangy Noodles, except making the tofu according to his instructions in his Thai Tamarind Chili Tofu and Cashews recipe, which is to say baking it. His instructions for baking the tofu are nothing special, but I still feel like I haven’t mastering the art of baking or frying or sauteing or anything else-ing tofu. So I appreciated the guidance, and my tofu came out nice and golden brown:

Baked Tofu

This then went into my big wok for a simple stir fry of noodles and vegetables. I have to say that in the end I wished this mix had a little more punch to it, but it still made for a satisfying platter.

Noodles

In case you’re wondering, the stir fry is topped off with an old standby from my youth, La Choy Chow Mein Noodles (my addition). I used to eat these all the time when I was younger (I typically ate them with Cup-a-Soups), and having them again with this meal was an experience filled with nostalgic goodness. Wonderful.

That’s all for this first backblogging post. I’m going to write the next in the series right after this, so I feel a little silly closing with the standard send-off, but here it is anyway.

Until we eat again,

Willie

Leave a Reply

