h1

Meals and Wheels (with close-ups!)

August 11, 2009

Howdy Caitlin,

I’ve got lots to report today, so I’m going to jump right into it. Lunch saw me improvising something yet again, with slightly better success than last night’s dinner improv. I knew I was in the mood for couscous but I was also in the mood for garlic. So I smushed the two together, creating Roasted Garlic & Pine Nut Couscous:

Couscous

Okay, so I’m pretty sure I got the idea for this combination from a Near East Couscous box, but I still made it from scratch (like without a recipe from scratch). I can’t say that it tasted as good as some of the Near East Couscous mixes I’ve tried, but it still hit the spot. Here it is close up:

Couscous Closeup

Even in the close-up it still just looks like regular couscous. But actually it’s not even regular couscous—it’s special Hodgson Mill Whole Wheat Couscous with Milled Flax Seed & Soy:

Couscous Box

This couscous was actually the most disappointing part of the dish, not because it was bad, but it just wasn’t as good as the heavenly Trader Joe’s couscous. I don’t know if I’ll ever find a suitable replacement for those boxes of golden goodness, but I guess I will be forced to up in Toronto… Alas.

Also for lunch I munched on this thing of hummus I found in the fridge:

Hommus

This was actually pretty disappointing as well and I didn’t have more than a few dips. I can’t even really say what it was about it, it just tasted like nothing in particular (and certainly none of the four ingredients listed on the top label). Then again, I’m really not the biggest fan of sundried tomatoes (they have to be done right, and these definitely were not), and the tomato flavor was probably the most conspicuous, though barely so. Anyway, I wasn’t that hungry, so I didn’t begrudge putting this back in the fridge and going off to enjoy the afternoon.

Side note: I learned an interesting factoid while I was watching Jeopardy! during my lunch: Snapple is the official drink of New York City. This confirms the suspicions I’ve had all along. Moving on…

One of the things I did this afternoon was finally install the bicycle lock attachment onto my bicycle. This was not in fact a case of year-and-a-half long apathy (entirely), but actually required some additional parts (nuts for the provided bolts) and innovative thinking (cutting one of the rubber strips provided to increase bar circumference). But now it’s all taken care of and works great! I’m very happy to have this for all the city biking I’ll be doing in Toronto—no more bicycle lock taking up backpack space or banging in front of the handlebars. Here’s the wide angle of my bike:

Bike

And here’s the lock attachment close up:

Bike Closeup

Anyway, on to dinner…

Dinner Spread

This was another sort of Mexican dinner. As you can see, there were lots of tortilla chips and dips, along with some other Mexican-ish sides. My contribution was this guacamole:

Guac

This was made using Gena’s recipe, which was very easy and very tasty. I just wish the avocados themselves tasted better! Unfortunately, the local supermarket doesn’t seem to sell the classic $4.99 Hass avocados, and the ones they do sell just aren’t as good. But they’re not so bad that they’re unenjoyable; indeed, there was only a little bit of this guac left at the end of the night. Here was a close-up I got before we started digging in:

Guac Closeup

Along with this, there was a small plate of leftover corn and tortilla lasagna (the one from Eat, Drink, & Be Vegan) from my dad, which I happily devoured:

Lasagna

…and salad and sale-sa from my mom:

Salad and Salsa

Let me tell you, this sale-sa my mom makes is quite the treat. She’s got the spices down pat—just the right level of spiciness, not overwhelming but still very punchy. I’m really in love with this stuff. Now if only we could get some better tasting chips…

Finally, for dessert, there was spiced carrot zucchini bread, also from my mom:

Zucchini Bread

Probably not the best zucchini bread I’ve ever tasted, but plenty satisfying (though I had no room for it after this massive dinner and didn’t get to try it until much later in the night).

And that was today! I already know that there’ll be at least one super exciting food adventures coming up tomorrow, and maybe there’ll be even more! You’ll have to wait and see 🙂

Until we eat again,

Willie

One comment

  1. I’m excited about your bike lock! You gave me a great idea for care packages with this post! *wink* *wink*



Leave a Reply

